We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberb place to stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin Guest House
Ranked #21 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I must say this is a fantastic little place to stay. Owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. Parking can be a little difficult but highly recommend you purchase the tourist parking permit @ £10 for 24 hours. The room was spaceous , well furnished and clean. Only comment would be that the rooms at the front of the property can be a little noisy at night due to the adjoining street and shops. Breakfast was one of the best I've had from a guest house and all cooked fresh to order . Overall fantastic stay and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Muddyfox2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for The Griffin Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 424 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We've been going to Brighton for at least 10 yrs (sometimes twice a year) and we've tried so many different hotels/guest houses. This will now be our choice of accommodation. We were in rooms 1/2 (we have a 16 yr old) there was shower room conveniently ensuite for both of us. Beds really comfortable, and rooms really usefully arranged (especially wine cooler on wall). A great welcome, fantastic breakfasts and parking easy with their in-house purchase of parking tickets. Great location for everything in Brighton. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was at back - only heard the pizza place empty some bottles out and then quiet for remainde...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Cannot speak highly enough of our stay with Chris and Keiran recently, warm welcome, beautiful cosy room with all home comforts provided.
Breakfast is delicious with plenty of choice, and very decent coffee!
Hosts are happy to recommend restaurants and places to go, and are committed to ensure your stay is a happy and comfortable one.
A short walk into central Brighton.
Definitely going back as soon as possible, 5 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Each room is different and has it's own merits, book direct and discuss your needs with the guys...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirateHoneychurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If you're visiting Brighton, look no further than The Griffin. It's run by a really friendly couple who are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are fantastic - big, really nicely decorated, and well-equipped with a TV, iPod dock and wine fridge. Breakfast is included in the very reasonable price, and is superb (try the bacon and eggs with maple syrup).

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay, and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bridgie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely big bath, warm and cosy room, two bars of chocolate waiting for us! Very central and all the attractions close by (Sealife, Wheel, Pier, The Lanes, Pavilion). Fantastic breakfast, cooked by the very welcoming and genial Chris and Kieran, who do everything to help you enjoy your stay. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: If you like a good bath. choose one of the rooms with the whirlpool bath - it was excellent!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplekimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for the weekend and as we usually stay in Brighton Hotels wasn't sure what to expect from a guest house... What I got was a brilliant service that simply cannot be matched by the larger 'pack 'em and stack 'em' hotels. Lactose free milk they organised without a fuss, room beautifully decorated, breakfast cooked how you wanted it, restaurant reviews with recommendations based on actually having eaten there, warm welcome from the owners. Made to feel welcome and not another faceless guest. I loved The Griffin and will stay there again and again. Highly recommended because it is simply lovely :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

What makes this place such a gem is, without doubt, Kieran and Chris. They are warm, welcoming, funny and genuinely interested in their guests. The room was comfortable, there were bars of chocolate left on our bed, a bottle of wine on arrival and a truly delicious breakfast. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Address: 14 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing