We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Griffin Guest House
Ranked #21 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here oct last year and had a brilliant time. Room 8 was full of character, the bed comfortable and spa bath heavenly! Do not miss their breakfasts. Would always bare the griffin in mind when staying in Brighton. Kieran and Chris know exactly what a great stay ensures and provide it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
265
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My partner and I found this place in the Spartacus Guide, however it was clear from the other clientele that everyone was very welcome. The guys that run this place were fatastic, very attentive and extremely friendly.

The house was clean and smart throughout and had a lovely relaxed feel about it. We stayed in room number 8 on the top floor, which was quite a climb, but a nice spacious room with an extremely comfortable bed and a jacuzzi to help you relax.

Tea and coffee available throughout the day on the 1st floor in the conservatory which also has a sun deck which I expect it amazing in the summer.

The location is excellent, close enough to the clubs and bars to be stumbling distance at the end of the night, but not too close as to be disturbed by them. The sea front is just a short walk away as well.

My only regret is we missed breakfast on the 1st day! This is simply amazing, I had a full English with a fruity twist and my partner had pancakes....you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I had a lovely stay at this guest house. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and our room was both stylish and comfy. We were given some restaurant recommendations which was handy and the breakfast at the Griffin was incredible! Would happily book there again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room at the very top of the guest house was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A stylish small hotel / guest house with a very warm welcome. Fantastic location within easy walk of the Lanes and the sea. The breakfasts were amazing, I had the special small pancakes with scrambled egg, streaky bacon, banana and maple syrup, sprinkled with fresh strawberry and blueberries, yum! We had the room with the whirlpool bath and balcony, beautifully decorated with original art pieces and luxurious bedding. Little touches such as free coffee, tea, fresh milk and special biscuits plus a supply of ear-plugs (early morning deliveries and sea gulls are usual in Brighton..). Chris and Kieran made us feel like it was a home from home. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The big rooms with the whirlpool bath doesn't have a separate shower as well so you need to know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ges66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A very big Thanks to Chris & Kieran, their hospitality was outstanding, and so was the very comfortable accommodation. Location was perfect and found parking no problem.
The rooms are very special and beautifully appointed, and had air of boutique luxury, and great attention to detail. The breakfast was second to none, and the fruit is a healthy addition.
Would highly recommend The Griffin to everyone wanting that personal touch and the friendliest welcome.
Wishing them all the very best for the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location- beautiful view of the sea (from a street view room), 30 seconds walk to the sea front, lively with surrounding bars but didn't find it overly noisy. Very sweet touch supplying earplugs in the communal kitchen for those light sleepers.

Owners- couldn't be any lovelier, very obvious they want you to feel like a guest in their own home rather than a paying customer of their business. Couldn't do enough to help you enjoy your stay.

Room- was stunning with an old fashioned four poster bed and a lovely bath (with whirlpool jets) at the end of it. Very clean with a fridge which was handy.

Breakfast- amazing homecooked English breakfast in lovely surroundings. Nice to have constant access to a kitchen with tea/coffee making facilities and snacks. Not at all a hassle as some past reviewers have said.

Great value for money all round, this is the only place to stay if visiting Brighton

Room Tip: Room 4 was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Absolutely amazing hotel. Stayed here recently and my boyfriend and I were treated wonderfully from the minute we arrived to departure. Unfortunately we didn't catch the name of the man on the reception desk but he was incredibly helpful with where to eat, where to shop, where to visit, all the stuff you'd need for a couple of days in Brighton. Room was gorgeous, everything was clean and nicely decorated. Hot drinks and nibbles are available in the mini lounge throughout the day which was a nice touch. Not a bad word to say really, definitely booking up again to come next summer! (same review as I gave on trivago)

Room Tip: Chose the room with the walk in shower: was beautiful, with a view of the beach out of the window to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhianpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 94 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#10 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Property: The Griffin Guest House
Address: 14 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing