We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Griffin Guest House
Ranked #18 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great weekend break”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Brighton,it is very clean and the rooms are quite spacious.Breakfast was well prepared and plenty of choices for you to have.We had a party of 7 staying the weekend from the 9th march to the 11th march,the boys cant do enough for you without being to intrusive.I am also impressed that we could get tea and coffee and biscuits any time of day as they were always available.Thankyou for making what was a special weekend for me and the family an enjoyable one.To finish if you want a good hotel look no further than the griffin,close to the pier and not far from the shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
267
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It took weeks for me to choose somewhere to stay in Brighton. After much deliberation and reading of tripadvisor reviews we decided to stay at The Griffin. And we made the perfect choice thankfully. I wanted a sea view, to be in Kemptown and somewhere with really pretty rooms. We stayed in Room 6 and it was gorgeous. Four poster bed, dark furniture, wooden floors, huge walk in shower, big fluffy white towels, beautiful silk painted wall hangings, large bay window with chairs, a table and my lovely view of the sea and Brighton Wheel. I wanted to take it all home. There is so much attention to detail, even having a Griffin logo on the bathroom door. And everything is spotlessly clean.

Another reason for staying was the lovely breakfast room and breakfasts I had seen in photos on their website. But bacon and pineapple? Sausage and oranges? Weird, I won't be eating that! But I did and it was delicious. And the orange juice was 'real' unlike in most 4 star hotels.

Our hosts Kieran and Chris were great, a pleasure to meet. They are chatty and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

There is some street noise at night and noisy seagulls in the morning, but it IS a city, by the sea. And we had our window open so it would have been quieter with it shut.

My first visit to Brighton, the footie was awful, but Brighton was great, we loved everything about it. Recommended real ale pub, The Evening Star. The Griffin, fabulous place to stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6 is worth spending the extra money on, especially if you want to see the sea from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldgalaxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is really great Guest House in Brighton. It is perfectly postioned close to all the attractions and is a lovely period building. It's run by a very pleasant and helpful couple, and we received a warm welcome. We found parking just down the street and purchased permits at a very reasonable £10 a day from the hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel where it was very quiet. It was smart and clean with a good quality bed and we enjoyed very good sleep on the two nights we stayed. We liked the little conservatory sitting room with free on tap tea and coffee for guests. Breakfasts were taken in a pleasant room on the ground floor. The food was very special with a number of appetising cooked options, all beautifully presented. Our hosts were lovely and very helpful about places to go and resturants to try. Would definately try and book again if visting Brightomn again but be warned book early as it is rightly a very popular place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are quieter, than those on the front. We stayed in Room 7 which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner & i stayed in the griffin BnB for 2 nights which was a xmas gift from my father.

The BnB is fantastic in every way!

Amazing room, practical facilities, stunning tea room which is so relaxing and a very unique but tasty breakfast.

The owners were very welcoming and helpful.

We regulary visit the area and will always stay here from now on.

Location is perfect - walking distance from everywhere.

Make sure you take up the offer of a permit as parking is very expensive in BRIGHTON. £10 per day to park close by is a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utterlyurburban2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

On trying to choose a B & B in Brighton it was the sleigh bed and whirlpool bath in the room that swung it for me. The room was amazing! Made the most use of the whirlpool bath and it was quite a luxury to sit in your own private jacuzzi and watch a DVD! If you want to treat someone to a nice night or two away - this is it. Perfect location and good service. Would definitely recommend. Book directly on line with The Griffin and pay when you arrive. Nothing bad to say.

Room Tip: Room 8 - with high attic ceiling and whirlpool bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend in Brighton and really enjoyed ourselves. Good value for money close to the seafront and what can only be described as a spectacular breakfast included in the room rate. Friendly owners made outer stay a pleasure. Our room was compact but big enough and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Griffin Guest House in Brighton (Feb 2013). The guest house itself is located in the road opposite the wheel and is within easy walking distance of the pier, shore and ‘The Lanes’. Kieran and Chris were very nice and welcoming, with helpful advice of where to go and what to visit.

Tea and coffee (and the more important biscuits) are readily available 24 hours a day, laid out (to help yourself to) in a bright, comfortable space just off the main landing.

We Stayed in room ‘4’ which was immaculate; en-suite, I-pod/phone docking station, fridge, hairdryer, TV/DVD player (with an excellent selection of DVDs to choose from in the hall), iron and ironing-board and plenty of storage, not to mention the luxurious spa bath in the bedroom or the four-poster bed.

The bed itself was incredible comfortable with plush pillows and duvet making it incredible hard to get out of (Our first night away from the children in 2 years!)

Obviously a lot of attention and thought had gone into the beautifully decorated and furnished room(s) with provisions from towels and toiletries to the complimentary chocolate bar (‘Cadbury Twirl’ my favourite). There was mood lighting in the form of ‘dimmer’ switches and there were even complimentary ear plugs if you wanted to avoid the noise of the gulls in the morning.

The morning menu had various choices but we both went for ‘The Griffin’ a traditional ‘full English’. Tea, juice, toast (with lurpak & home-made marmalade - delicious), eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, bubble and squeak, mushrooms and tomatoes all cooked to perfection and served with a selection of sliced fresh fruit – beautiful!
Parking was £10 in the form of a permit bought from Kieran and Chris and although I imagine parking can be difficult, every time we went out in the car we found a space within a couple of doors, right outside.

We very much enjoyed our stay as I’m sure you will too. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 4 is street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 93 in Brighton
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#15 of 93 in Brighton
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
907 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarium Guest House
Aquarium Guest House
#34 of 93 in Brighton
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Property: The Griffin Guest House
Address: 14 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing