We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Griffin Guest House
Ranked #21 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Found the Griffin online, we wanted to be close to everything. I endorse all the other reviews, Chris & Kieran run an excellent B& B. Everything is on their web site, Restaurants etc.

We have stayed a couple of times at other B& B's in Brighton but its good to find one we want to return to again. We stayed in Room 6, especially liked the window seats to relax in before going out and the wine fridge. Celebrated my birthday on this weekend and plenty of room for four of us to enjoy a bottle of bubbly in the room. Will look into other rooms next time as as we want to return as we have a daughter living near by and this was one the more expensive rooms, £120 a night. Believe there are some from £90 per room.

Room Tip: all rooms pictured on the web site with descriptions on each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickleby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 430 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend in Brighton staying at The Griffin. We have visited Brighton many times and stayed in several hotels, generally fairing large hotels over guest houses, however that will now be a thing of the past, this place is gorgeous, stylish, clean with more bang for your buck that you would get in any of those sterile sea front hotels. The breakfast as mentioned many times on here is delicious and well worth getting up for as well as consistently 1st class both days. We stayed in Room 4 which has a Spa bath in the room and little extras such as the iPod docking station and the wine fridge. The communal conservatory/lounge area where you can help yourself to as much tea, coffee, fruit and biscuits is a great idea and is kept immaculately. The owners are down to earth, genuinely friendly guys who make running this place look so easy. We almost felt like we should be thanking them for letting us stay!! I would be disappointed if The Griffin is unavailable for our next visit to Brighton. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary, for 3 nights in February 2013, found a parking space right outside the guest house.
Check in was at 1pm, we arrived early at 12:30pm, no fuss, our case was taken to our room, room 4, which had a four poster bed, which was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in!!, there was a jacuzzi bath, in the bedroom, which was brilliant, and a wine fridge, the room had mood lights throughout.
The room was thoughtfully and tastefully furnished, and comfortable, along with modern touches, such as ipod docking system, and a tv with a built in dvd player, with a big collection of DVD'S available.
Breakfast in the morning was a joy, unlike the other hotels we've stayed in, with production food, the Griffin breakfasts were professionally artistically presented, a lot of thought went into the breakfasts!!
There was a seperate guest lounge/conservatory,with an outside patio, for warmer weather,with complimentary tea and coffee, and fresh fruit, and biscuits, and also a collection of books to read.
It could be a little noisy in the morning, due to the seagulls, and the occasional delivery lorries, but even that was thought of, free ear plugs!!
Several restaurants nearby, in fact one was next door, la cappanina, which was excellent, and was well recommended, the Griffin is ideally situated to all of the local bars and restaurants, with the seafront being a five minute walk, and there is an excellent bus service, if you want to travel further.
Wonderful place to spend a special time, the Griffin can definetely show much bigger hotels, how it should be done, we loved staying here!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayMike6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at the Griffin with my husband for 2 nights in November 2012. The weather could not have been worse however, the guest house could not have been better! The owners are so warm and welcoming; even helped us park the car, which is an art in Brighton. The room was heavenly, spotless and felt luxurious. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and beautifully presented and the little lounge area was a really warm added feature. Moreover, the guest house is wonderfully well located, a stone's throw from the pier and near some really nice restaurants and a short wonder to the city centre. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCHertfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary, and from the moment we walked in the door we felt welcome and at home, The managing couple were so friendky, very helpful and welcoming. We stayed in a jacuzzi room and it was huge and very well decorated, with mood lighting under the bed and lovely antique looking furniture, and a 4 poster bed, which was extremely comfy! There is a tea room in a beautifully thought about conservatory leading onto a lovely terrace. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and the whole house smelt lush! If you walk one way down the road you are on the Beach and if you walk the other you are at the shops and very close to the lanes! The onky down for us is that Children arent allowed so we coukd only ever visit if it was well planned, but lack of children gives it a nice relaxed, peaceful atmosphere so im not complaining!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have recently stayed in the Griffin as a birthday treat for myself! It's a lovely hotel and our room, no8 - was amazing! It had the comfiest bed and a big bath in the room! Breakfast was like something from a 5* restaurant and the location was spot on for the beach, pier and all the fab shops which Brighton has to offer! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey-Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I always stay at the Griffin when I am in Brighton because it's just fantastic every time. It really does take all the best features of both a hotel and B&B with quality breakfasts, linen, beds, towels, soaps even the biscuits! But what makes it so great is the care that Chris and Kieran take in making sure you have a lovely time. They seem to have a knack of knowing when you want help or a chat or just want to be left quietly to read the paper. Location is great as well - walk out the front door and look right and there is the sea, loads of nice pubs and restaurants very close by. This review is based on the experience of six visits over the last three years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Fab Guest
Fab Guest
#16 of 95 in Brighton
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#20 of 95 in Brighton
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 95 in Brighton
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#17 of 95 in Brighton
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Address: 14 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $100 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing