We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Griffin Guest House
Ranked #21 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Warm welcome. Lovely chill out room, roof terrace. The rooms are fairly compact as is the shower room. The breakfasts are amazing. Complimentary bottle of plonk. Chockies on bed. Great location. I really hope that we can get in here for Pride next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 432 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Attractive room with modern en suite, comfy bed, good quality toiletries and towels, and a flake chocolate bar! Everything seemed to have been thought of, iron, hair dryer and coffee/tea making facilities. (nice biscuits too) The situation was great and the hosts welcoming and fun. Excellent breakfasts served with a smile. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TruDesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Last year's four-night stay at The Griffin was so good that it was inevitable that my mate and I would choose it again as the base for our annual record-buying expedition. The good news is that our stay was just as good as last year's. The bad news? There is no bad news.
Kieran and Chris run a welcoming, relaxed, friendly guest house, and even though we arrived well before check-in time, our room was ready and Chris was pleased to book us in. Our twin room was spotlessly clean, and the toiletries and chocolate were a nice touch, and while two bulky pensioners, a double bed and a single bed could have made things crowded, we never found it a problem.
The shower room, although small, made the best use of available space, with a large shower cubicle. TIP: if you're a bloke, bring an electric razor -- when you wet shave, you WILL bang your head on the mirror over the wash basin while wetting your face! :o)
Breakfast is excellent -- Chris prepares it in front of you and, yes, pieces of fruit in the fry-up DO work. There is no shortage of coffee, tea and toast top-ups either. In fact, on a couple of days we were able to skip lunch, such were the belt-busting qualities of the breakfast.
The conservatory provides a welcome area for tea, coffee and biscuits during the day, while the roof garden gives smokers space for their vice.
I can't vouch for the sleep quality in rooms at the front of the guest house, which face on to the road, but by and large it's quiet at the back, although the restaurant up the road stores its empty bottles in the back area, to the accompaniment of clashing noise in the early part of the evening until it closes. However, in the conservatory there is a basket of ear plugs, should you feel the need to use them.
Location-wise, the Griffin is ideally placed for the beach, pier and "Brighton Eye", and only a short walk down St James's Street to The Lanes, Brighton Pavilion and the North Laines.
There is so much to do and see in Brighton, and staying at the Griffin, for us, was a big part of the great overall experience.

Room Tip: Worth booking a room at the back -- the view isn't spectacular but it is quieter, by and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

With beautiful weather on the way we took a last minute decision to visit Brighton.

We picked the Griffin based on the reviews and were not disappointed.

Upon arrival we were given our parking permit and didn't have to worry about the car for 24hrs.

We were shown a map of Brighton and pointed in the right direction for eating out and shopping. Really helpful.

Our room was just lovely (room 6). I must admit I've never stayed at a b&b and had imagined an old fashioned house (the type of thing you see on hotel inspector) but I was 100% wrong. The room was really modern with a trendy shower.

The conservatory area was a nice treat with tea and coffee facilities and biscuits.

Another treat was the choice of dvds you could borrow.

Breakfast was just fantastic. There was a great choice and it was made in front of you.

The b&b is in a great location, just a two minutes to the beach and approx 10 minutes to walk to the lanes.

Was truly a great experience and would highly recommend it to anyone after a friendly service with modern twist.


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveNiceThingsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the griffin room 4 for two nights which was simply amazing. Although we didn't have a shower the whirlpool and sea view room certainly made up for that. The room itself was spacious and very clean. A lot of reviews are commenting on the noise we didn't find it a problem, although there is street noise nothing that would keep you awake! The owners couldn't have been nicer, they made sure all our needs were attended too and even gave us a map highlighting lots of things too do. The breakfast was prepared in front of you and did not disappoint! The location is also fab you are a 2 minute walk from quite literally everything you would need. We would certainly recommend this hotel and also stay again :-) many thanks x

Room Tip: Definitely go for a whirlpool room....it's so worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

well what a weekend.......we were made to feel so welcome from the moment we booked! the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, our room was very cosy and very clean. the guys that run it are brilliant, and anything we needed they were happy to help with. Thanks guys for a great weekend, and we would definately stay here again. Tara & Karen (The girls from room 7)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Griffin for two nights and very much enjoyed it. It is an unusual quirky place run by two lovely guys. Great location right by the beach, pier, and near to the Laines fab shopping area. Great pub directly opposite ( do try their Zombies!) The Brighton eye is at the end of the road so a great landmark and you can never get lost. I loved the very pretty conservatory with interesting exotic plants where guests can sit and have coffee ( or whatever) when ever you like, this leads on to a pretty sun trap balcony which is great if you are a smoker. I am not a smoker and it was still a lovely place to sit and you are often totally alone - very peaceful. The Griffin is not licensed, to our horror, but when we realised this, our lovely hosts very kindly gave us an excellent bottle from their own private fridge as a present. The room was fun with a Jacuzzi in our bedroom and twinkling blue floor lights to guide you at night. Breakfast was much more interesting than the usual predictable hotel fare - with very fresh ingredients and fun extra's. As a vegetarian they made a special delicious breakfast for me that was not on the menu with no fuss, although I had given them no notice of this. Only downside was the noise outside on the first night, but much less on the second, However, this was a bank holiday weekend in August in a great party area. Recommend for fun weekend - great shopping,( with strange little shops of all kinds if you walk around and look), nearby beach and plenty of choice of nightlife, pubs, and places to eat very nearby. Great service from the minute you arrive - thanks guys.

Room Tip: No idea - all good I think, Maybe away from from the front would be less noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fab Guest
Fab Guest
#19 of 95 in Brighton
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#16 of 95 in Brighton
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#18 of 95 in Brighton
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Guest House

Address: 14 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $111 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griffin is a Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Brighton. The Griffin Guest House is a few yards from St. James Street, and also just off the seafront, you can be on the Pier in less than two minutes. The Griffin has undergone a thorough renovation in recent times and offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1760, the hotel has nine rooms, each with its own en suite Whirlpool bath or shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Griffin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing