We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.”
Review of Alcampo Lounge

Alcampo Lounge
Ranked #471 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Alcampo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great find.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Loved this place and ate there twice. The staff were very friendly and no complaints at all. The decor inside is so interesting, something to see at every point. The venue is quite large and could easily accommodate larger parties. Drinks -alcoholic and non. Fairly broad menu, teas, coffees. Tasty breakfasts.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi ScottD,
Sounds like we have a new lounge regular on our hands?? Really happy to hear you enjoyed your visits and love what we've done with the place. Look out for our sister lounges down in your neck of the woods and we look forward to seeing you again here at Alcampo.
Thanks for taking the time in leaving us your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    83
    49
    27
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great addition to London Road!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We came here today for a late lunch are are local to the area.

It was a 45 minute wait for food and the bar staff seemed really rushed having to take orders, pour drinks and make elaborate cocktails which added to the queue.

Queue was worth it though burgers were great (we had the hero and rib burger) although chips a bit on the stingy side.

Atmosphere is great really relaxing, nice chilled music and great decor.

Wine choice is nice and good beers on tap. Will come again and glad this is brightening up the old blockbuster on London Road!

Helpful?
Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi AuditMunki,
Thanks for taking the time in leaving us your review. So happy to read you enjoyed your visit and will be returning to see us again. Sorry about the wait that you had on this particular visit. It was down to some last minute staffing issues on the day. We have worked very hard on reducing wait times both at the bar and for food but some days in this business we work in it doesn't happen!
We look forward to seeing you again.
P.S next time ask for a few more chips we'll be happy to oblige!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potential to be great”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I was very excited to see this new addition to London Road, any investment in this area is great. The decor is brilliant and the food is nice (although some strange food combinations in some of the meals!)

The one thing that let it down is the staff, although pleasant enough, they seemed lazy and only willing to do the minimum amount of work. We had 3 rounds of drinks each between 2 of us and the empty glasses were never taken away. They were your typical Brighton 'too cool to smile' staff.

BUT the cheesy garlic bread was delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi JAMIE S,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Really happy you enjoyed the majority of your first visit to Alcampo and appreciated the decor and the feel of the place AND the garlic bread!!
Sorry if you felt my team were "lazy". We have tried from day one to create an informal dining experience with a laid back atmosphere so everyone enjoying the lounge can do so with the minimum amount of effort and my team are the frontline in achieving this and do so with their own character and personality and also work very hard and are professional at the same time. Come try us out again and maybe we can change your mind about us!! Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good addition”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Good addition to the area. Great atmosphere but average food. Good wine selection but they do not serve 250ml glasses. Good pint selection and lovely coffees.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Daleinhove,
Thanks for taking the time in leaving us a review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us although you feel the food needed improving? I'd love to hear from you so you can give me more details and feedback in terms of what dishes you chose that evening so we can see what we can do to improve. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future and I am sure we can redeem ourselves.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“This is a must to visit - great meal!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal at Alcampo's tonight. The ambiance, meal and staff was excellent. Visiting England passing through Brighton.
From Perth western Australia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 684john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy F, General Manager at Alcampo Lounge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi 684john,
Thanks so much for your review. It was a pleasure talking to you the night you came in and I'm extremely grateful to you for taking the time in leaving your feedback for us. Hope you enjoy the rest of the UK and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcampo Lounge also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Alcampo Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing