We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquarium Guest House
Ranked #36 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Went to see James play at the Brighton Dome which is just a few minutes walk from the B&B and can highly recommend it as a place to stay. Great location with everything on the doorstep and rooms very clean and nicely furnished. Owners friendly, more than happy to let us leave our bags until late afternoon after we checked out in the morning. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank arthurlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Aquarium Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 156 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed in June/July of this year. The Aquarium is in a great location, far away from the main bustle of the centre whilst being in easy walking distance of the attractions. We were treated extremely well by our hosts who are a lovely, young, hard-working and helpful couple. There are plenty of nice places to eat in close proximity to the Guest House, including one which has been featured on Gordon Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares and a lovely Tapas Bar at the top of the street. The rooms were clean and fresh every day and great breakfasts every morning. The only downsides ware that, if your a little on the older side (not that we are, I hasten to add, before my wife clouts me), you need to ask for a room on one of the lower floors and also parking in Brighton is a NIGHTMARE. We were lucky and managed to get a space across from the house and Scott provided (for a modest fee) a parking pass for the length of our stay. Have recommended this Guest House to others and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PandPBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Myself and my partner stayed here over the Pride weekend and had a great time. Scott was so friendly and helpful during our stay even helping us up the stairs with our cases! The room was really well decorated and felt very comfortable and cosy in an ideal location for the Pier and seafront. The breakfast was very tasty and had a good variety including vegetarian full english! There was also plenty of available information abuot sight seeing and other tourist spots.
I would fully recommend this to others, a fantastically well run guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Brandy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I took my mum on a 5-day-trip to Brighton and we booked the twin room at the very top of the staircase! The accommodation we booked certainly met our expectations. I liked the sea-colours and the design of the interior going so well with the "Aquarium" name of the B+B. The rooms were cosy and clean, breakfast was brilliant and the whole atmosphere very welcoming and friendly. We can definitely recommend the Aquarium!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankyMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This was our first stay in Brighton and were delighted with the accommodation. We booked two superior double rooms which were large, airy and spotlessly clean with modern en-suites. The only drawback was the short half-hour period for breakfast. The option of a continental breakfast for a longer time would be a compromise. We have stayed in many B & B's across the UK but have never had such a short breakfast window. However it is conveniently situated for the town and beach albeit noisy at night - but it is Brighton!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank ThreeLegsIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Stayed at the Aquarium for 2 nights, and was very impressed by every aspect. Comfortable, VERY clean, modern, and the owners are very friendly. Booked it last minute so only the small double room was left but even this was more than adequate. Freeview flatscreen tvs in every room and ensuites was great, and the breakfast was lovely. Perfect for young couples going to Brighton for nightlife and/or shopping, as it's so close to the seafront, shops and bars, clubs and restaurants - literally a minute's walk. Will definitely recommend it and go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BreezyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Aquarium Guest House is just a few minutes away from the seafront (Brighton Pier) and the city centre so you don't have to walk long to be right in the middle of it all. My room was spacious and clean, the hosts are very friendly, and breakfast includes, among other options, continental and English breakfast. I'd book a room with them again any time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UKTraveller08Cologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Griffin Guest House
The Griffin Guest House
#21 of 94 in Brighton
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#49 of 94 in Brighton
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pier Guest House
Grand Pier Guest House
#37 of 94 in Brighton
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boydens
Boydens
#33 of 94 in Brighton
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#63 of 94 in Brighton
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium Guest House

Address: 13 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $112 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquarium Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Attractive property, appealing en-suite rooms. Furniture and fittings are of very good quality, with cleanliness remaining a keynote throughout, all looks pristine" - AA Inspection Report 2008. Contemporary and stylish Wi-Fi enabled Guest House located in fashionable 'Kemp Town' close to seafront and city centre. Fully en suite with 6ft wide beds and oblique sea views from some bedrooms. Flat screen TVs with digital freeview. Complimentary tea and coffee. Non-Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquarium Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing