We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the sea-colours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarium Guest House
Ranked #32 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I took my mum on a 5-day-trip to Brighton and we booked the twin room at the very top of the staircase! The accommodation we booked certainly met our expectations. I liked the sea-colours and the design of the interior going so well with the "Aquarium" name of the B+B. The rooms were cosy and clean, breakfast was brilliant and the whole atmosphere very welcoming and friendly. We can definitely recommend the Aquarium!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankyMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2008

This was our first stay in Brighton and were delighted with the accommodation. We booked two superior double rooms which were large, airy and spotlessly clean with modern en-suites. The only drawback was the short half-hour period for breakfast. The option of a continental breakfast for a longer time would be a compromise. We have stayed in many B & B's across the UK but have never had such a short breakfast window. However it is conveniently situated for the town and beach albeit noisy at night - but it is Brighton!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank ThreeLegsIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Stayed at the Aquarium for 2 nights, and was very impressed by every aspect. Comfortable, VERY clean, modern, and the owners are very friendly. Booked it last minute so only the small double room was left but even this was more than adequate. Freeview flatscreen tvs in every room and ensuites was great, and the breakfast was lovely. Perfect for young couples going to Brighton for nightlife and/or shopping, as it's so close to the seafront, shops and bars, clubs and restaurants - literally a minute's walk. Will definitely recommend it and go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BreezyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Aquarium Guest House is just a few minutes away from the seafront (Brighton Pier) and the city centre so you don't have to walk long to be right in the middle of it all. My room was spacious and clean, the hosts are very friendly, and breakfast includes, among other options, continental and English breakfast. I'd book a room with them again any time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UKTraveller08Cologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Had a great weekend here last week with my girlfriend. Small B&B with a spacious room and large window that looked down towards the sea. Owners very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome - very tasty breakfast with champagne marmite included, a first for us!
All very modern with trendy artwork on walls and in corridors. Definitely a good place to stay to enjoy Brighton's many attractions (located nicely in Kemp Town).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KnightyOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

The peeps were friendly & helpful, the room was nice size and clean and I had a really great stay there. Would defo consider going there again if I go back to Brighton! :-)

Place is also in a good location, as I don't drive it was good to be within a couple of minutes walk from sea and shops without running the risk of getting lost!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank moof86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We always stay here when coming to Brighton. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice clean and well equipped rooms (cable tv and wireless internet connection). It's is perfectly located close to all the sites and attractions as well as shopping and restaurants. All you can ask for when staying in Brighton.

Ståle & Linda

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SH-LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium Guest House

Address: 13 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquarium Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Attractive property, appealing en-suite rooms. Furniture and fittings are of very good quality, with cleanliness remaining a keynote throughout, all looks pristine" - AA Inspection Report 2008. Contemporary and stylish Wi-Fi enabled Guest House located in fashionable 'Kemp Town' close to seafront and city centre. Fully en suite with 6ft wide beds and oblique sea views from some bedrooms. Flat screen TVs with digital freeview. Complimentary tea and coffee. Non-Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquarium Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing