We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquarium Guest House
Ranked #34 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Guest House”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in The Aquarium and won't be looking for anywhere else to stay next time we go to Brighton. The room was immaculate, I even commented on the grout being perfect! Lovely comfy bed, sheets pillows and duvet all good quality and smelt clean. Great view over Brighton roof tops. Not having to do the, get up for breakfast that you don't really want, is great and there are lots of places to go for breakfast within a couple of minutes walk. Parking made easier and cheaper by being able to buy a day permit, although arriving after 8pm did make it difficult to find a space. Scott and Helen, lovely friendly people and obviously have worked hard to get it just right. Although it was the coldest week end of the year we were warm and cozy in our room. Minutes walk from beach, Lanes, North Lanes and Dome. Thank you and great book written by Scott himself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillandsteve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    29
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
100
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
343 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in Brighton on a very cold weekend and this was a perfect warm and cosy location to retreat to. Very well located close to the central area, Pavillion, concert halls etc and plenty of places in easy walking distance in centre/Lanes or in Kemp Town to eat. Also very close to sea front and pier.
The room has a small refridgerator and breakfast tray which is perfect if you don't want to be constrained by breakfast times and if you want something a little ore substantial this, there are plenty of cafes within a few hundred yards where you can get breakfast or brunch depending on how quickly you get moving!
Location convenient for public trasnport. There is on-street parking and the guest house has vouchers which you can buy - if you can find a nearby space, you don't need to move unless you want to go out of town.
Spotlessly clean, very warm welcome and helpful advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Aquarium is a very clean, well located guest house. Situated 2 mins walk from the seafront and immediate vicinity of shops/bars/restaurants. Pleasant decor, towels changed daily, lovely owners. Lovely

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Again enjoyed our stay, the rooms have been just redecorated and to a very high standard. The new shutters look amazing!!!! And very handy to have a fridge in the room. As always very, very, clean. This must be one of the best guest houses to stay at in Brighton, easy access to the beach, town and restaurants. Look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1948dmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent the weekend in Kemp Town, Brighton staying at Aquarium Guest House in Madeira Place. We really like this small guest house and it is our second time enjoying the hospitality of Scott and Helen. The room again was a good size, exceptionally clean and well appointed with a large bed, breakfast tray and plentiful supplies of tea, coffee and milk. the location is just off the main drag through and there are loads of bars, cafes, restaurants and pubs all around with the sea front 2 minutes away, the "eye" at the bottom of the road and the pier maybe 5 minutes gentle stroll. Thoroughly recommend this guest house, far better than most pricey hotels and only drawbacks are finding parking and availability of a room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahendersonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013, we had a lovely welcome from the owner even though we arrived quite late. We had a double room which was great, very clean & comfy. TV WiFi & although this guest house doesn't do breakfast there was a great breakfast basket in the room with fruit, biscuits & breakfast bars, tea & coffee.

Fantastic location & would stay again if i come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olaleye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been staying at the aquarium guest house once or twice a year for about seven years now and have to say we would not go anywhere else in Brighton, the rooms are all beautifully decorated and warm, exceptionally clean and spacious with everything one could want including fresh fruit, biscuits an cereal bars that are replenished every day, location is perfect, right near the beach and shops, Helen and Scott who run the aquarium are the most delightful and dearest couple one could wish to meet and nothing is too much trouble, the aquarium does not do a breakfast (which does suit us) but this totally reflected in the room rates which considering how much other people in Brighton charge is extremely good value......if you are looking for somewhere to stay then book up at the aquarium, we totally recommend this lovely guest house !!!!!!..........see you soon dear Helen & Scott....

Room Tip: 6 rooms all are en suite, clean and lovely.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardsmith878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Griffin Guest House
The Griffin Guest House
#21 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#55 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pier Guest House
Grand Pier Guest House
#36 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#42 of 94 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium Guest House

Property: Aquarium Guest House
Address: 13 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquarium Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Attractive property, appealing en-suite rooms. Furniture and fittings are of very good quality, with cleanliness remaining a keynote throughout, all looks pristine" - AA Inspection Report 2008. Contemporary and stylish Wi-Fi enabled Guest House located in fashionable 'Kemp Town' close to seafront and city centre. Fully en suite with 6ft wide beds and oblique sea views from some bedrooms. Flat screen TVs with digital freeview. Complimentary tea and coffee. Non-Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aquarium Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing