We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, friendly little hotel.”
Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good, friendly little hotel.”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights on a Wednesday and Thursday in February. Despite the cold weather this winter, the hotel was full - this was possibly because it was the half-term break but maybe also because the prices for mid-week at this time of year compare very favourably with weekend rates from March onwards. We paid £120 a night to stay in Wista (one of the larger rooms) which was good value compared to the weekend rate of £235 which, to be honest, we would have been very reluctant to pay anywhere.

The room is on the 4th floor and does not have a sea view (unless you make a point of craning you neck when you look out the window). It is, however, very comfortable and well furnished (exactly as it looks on the website) and very quiet, with no noise from other rooms or the street.

The bar and the breakfast room are really nice and fitted out in a fashionable but comfortable way. And the service was friendly and very efficient. Breakfast was nicely cooked and the cocktails in the evening well made (according to my wife!). Service standards at the hotel were excellent and everyone there had mastered the art of putting their guests at their ease and giving them what they wanted. We had a problem with our shower and it was put right within 30 minutes.

All in all, we felt utterly relaxed and at home from the moment we arrived until we left. This is a good hotel run by poeple who know what it takes and it deserves its high rating.

We had a great meal at Gingerman about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. It wasn't cheap but, as a place to celebrate a special occasion (it was our wedding anniversary), it takes some beating. The restaurant is small (accomodates only about 32 people) and was full, pleasantly buzzy and warmly welcoming on a cold, wet Thursday in February. We've not had a better meal out for a very long time.

And if you haven't visited the Brighton Pavilion before, don't miss it - the dining room alone is worth seeing!

We had a great time on our short break, thanks mainly to the Hotel Una and its staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sancho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    170
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
704
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2010

we stayed 2 night`s in the flores room it was very clean well thought out and very comfortable , customer service was fantastic nothing was too much trouble , very friendly staff , the cocktail`s were to die for !!!! our whole experience of this hotel was great wish we could of stayed longer , we hope to return in the near future .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyBubba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Its like staying with your mates- you feel complaining would be unfair- nice nice staff- young and helpful,except let me carry my bag to my room while chatting, Frozen solid in the bathroom -steam fills up the room when you have a shower and runs down the walls. Nowhere to place a toilet bag in bathroom except on the floor. Bed soft - room crazy noisy when people walk in the upstairs room. Really nice bar staff and reception.Great for one night away .Didnt eat there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I took advantage of a sunday special price and paid £120 for the Wista suite, from the moment I called to enquire about making a resrvation to the point of checking out the staff could not have been more helpful. The location is great on a lovely square in just off Kings Road. There is a car park just outside for £12.50 for 24 hours (which for Brighton is very reasonable).
The hotel itself is just as it looks in the pictures, The Wista suite was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room (at no extra cost and all included in the room price) and it arrived on time, the selection and quality of food was great (eggs benedict with smoked salmon, freshly squeezed juice and fresh coffee)
The night manager/receptionist was incredibly accomodating and very patient and polite with another guest that was so drunk he could barely stand.
There was no street noise which was a real suprise compared to other hotels in Brighton we have stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for only one night, but wished we had stayed longer!
On arrival we were offered a complimentary upgrade to the Jubba suite, which was great! The room was clean and very comfortable, with tasteful decor. The hotel is beautifully maintained with a luxurious feel. The service was first class, and I mean first class. The staff are so friendly, welcoming and attentitive, we will book a room here again when we are next in Brighton and if we don't intend to stay the night we'll definitely be making an appearance in the bar.. the cocktails are amazing!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marylebone
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is our second visit to the Una Hotel and would not consider staying elsewhere in Brighton. The staff are really great with Paul overseeing eveything and Koko serving fantastic cocktails in the bar. Wide choice of great rooms with all modern amenities. Excellent central location. Really relaxed atmosphere - great choice at breakfast

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonerMarylebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Thanks to lovely hotel ambience and wonderful staff we had another great stay.
This time we stayed in room Jubba which was very stylish and comfortable. Staff couldn't do enough. Overslept and missed breakfast, asked the staff if we could have some toast, 10 minutes later 2 full english's were delivered to our door. I would highly recommend to those having a short break in Brighton and will definitely stay at Una Hotel again next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Property: Hotel Una
Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing