We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central, stylish and exceptionally friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Una

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Una
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was very impressed by this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They gave me very good advice on which restaurants to book and how to find them; nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Flores which was a well decorated quiet room with very comfortable bed, and lovely bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent as was the hotel DVD selection. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldberrySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Una
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 997 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2009

Decided to book Hotel Una for a three night break with my wife after reading the (mostly) fantastic reviews on TA. Got in touch with Emma at the hotel and, after some negotiation was offered he Eden room at a small discount from rack rate (£160 for Thurs, £240 for Fri/Sat).

First, all of the positives (and there are many).

The service is, without doubt, first class. From reservation through to check out the staff were as charming and efficient as I have experienced anywhere in the world. They always managed to be on hand without being pushy. They were informed, polite and always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The location of the hotel is perfect for most of the Brighton attractions, 100yards to the promenade, one street down from a shopping center and within easy walking distance of both the Lanes/Nth Laines area, and the train to the Marina.

The room (Eden) was large and bright with some nice furniture, great TV/DVD. Big bathtub, SK bed and very comfortable sofa. A lot of thought (and money) has obviously gone into the design of the room and the quality is clear to see.

Breakfast in the room is great, the cooked breakfast is one of the best I have enjoyed anywhere. The drinks at the bar are well priced (£7 for a cocktail) and the choice is fantastic for a small boutique hotel. The bar staff were brilliant and willing to knock up whatever you fancied (even willing to go out into the garden in the rain to pick fresh mint for the cocktails!).

In conclusion, a great hotel whose staff are a major credit and which deserves it's top billing in Brighton.

A couple of (very) minor niggles.

The room could have been cleaner...Particularly around the bath which is in the corner of the bedroom. The walls were quite grubby and had started to show signs of wear and tear.

The separate WC/Basin room is tiny, you literally could not get two people in there at once. Not a major problem but this deserves a mention in the room description.

On arrival the room contained some great Molton Brown products (my wife's favourite) but these were not replenished on a daily basis so were left empty after the second day.

I know that these seem like minor points, and they are. But if this hotel is going to maintain it's reputation as the best in Brighton (and I hope that it does) then the little things will matter. If it was not for the items above the hotel would have got 5 stars accross the board.

Well done to all at the Una for creating a wonderful place to stay, we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Have to agree with everything that has been said below, I think what makes this hotels so great is the Staff, they are just so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you. We had the Eden room which is without a doubt a lovely room. the location is fantanctic and near everything so we could just leave the car in the NCP and walk around NCP is literally across the road. The breakfast has to have a special mention as well as the staff as it was great!

Definately would come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmypuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We went to Brighton for a mid-week break for some some R&R and stayed in room Eden. It was perfect for us - light, bright and airy with a great view of the sea and the square. The massive bed and comfy sofa were very relaxing. There is plenty of storage space in the room and the Molton Brown toiletries and fluffly towels and bathrobes are a bonus.
The bath proved to be big enough for two, but having a shower over the bath is a bit draughty. We didn't mind - it was worth the lack of a proper shower to have the beautiful full-length windows and feeling of space. The separate toilet and sink area is modern and clean.
The bar area is also lovely - very stylish and drinks are very reasonably priced.
We had breakfast in our room both mornings which was a nice touch. Had the full English first morning which was very good quality. Eggs benedict the second morning was also wonderful. Little touches like the orange juice being freshly squeezed make Una so special.
The staff we met from arrival to leaving were all excellent. Helpful, chatty and very friendly - ready to offer advice if you need a recommendation for things to do or places to eat.
I think we got a very good price for our room (£320 for 2 nights midweek). What I liked best was the attention to detail and the decor of the place - it was more like staying in a luxury house than in a hotel - it was a very special experience and we will be returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This is everything a boutique hotel should be, and more. So much thought has gone into every room - one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, and the service was friendly, informal, and wonderful. NB This is two minutes walk from the characterless Hilton Metropole, so if you have a conference there (as I had), stay at Hotel Una instead - it will also be cheaper!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We were recommended this hotel by a colleague and were really impressed with the hotel. Great location in Brighton, about 5-10 minute walk from the Lanes, with an NCP underground carpark in the same Square.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and as first time visitors to Brighton, they suggested the some places we could wander and visit.

The rooms we had were gorgeous, all individually designed. We felt at home straight away.

The breakfast was really good, possibly the best Eggs Benedict I've had anywhere!

The lasting impression as a whole was a great mix of professionalism & friendliness in a hotel where a lot of care and attention has obviously been paid in it's design.

We would definitely recommend to friends and will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkerbellCymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I stayed at hotel una with my husband for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. We wanted to stay somewhere special and hotel una didn't disappoint.
We stayed in Vedea, one of the standard doubles and this was clean, stylish and very comfortable. It's on the 4th floor and unlike most small brighton hotels that we've stayed in had a lift which was a bonus! As our room was right at the top of the building, it felt very private and we weren't aware of any noise coming from other parts of the hotel.
My only criticism of the room would be that there wasn't very much storage space so we ended up living mostly out of our suitcases. The room was much smaller than we expected from looking at their website however it didn't feel cramped.
The best thing about this hotel were the staff. They were friendly and helpful. We had been given a bottle of champagne by friends as a wedding gift and the staff provided champagne flutes and an ice bucket from the room.
When we said we were going to get fish and chips for dinner (from Bankers on Western Road - definitely the best chip shop I've been to) they offered to provide plates and cutlery so we could eat them in our room. We didn't take them up on this but still, it was an unusual offer which highlighted the excellent service.
Perhaps most exceptional of all, we had to check out at 3.30am to go to Gatwick for a flight and they offered to make us breakfast before we left! It was a bit too early to eat but they would have provided cereal, toast, fruit and coffee in the middle of the night if we had wanted it.
Overall, this hotel truly deserves all the good reviews. It was a lovely place to spend part of our honeymoon and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsscottsincejune09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Una

Address: 55-56 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brighton
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $131 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Una 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly, elegant and fashionable, obsessive with detail. Classy Boutique hotel with the unique combination of contrasting textures, natural woods and contemporary artwork. Situated in Regency Square, with a great view of the West Pier, this chic and exclusive hotel offers you a selection of 20 individually designed en suite rooms including two luxury suites with private Sauna & Jacuzzi, an intimate bar, and an option of massages from a specialist physiotherapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Una reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing