We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good location, but ...”
Review of Leona House

Leona House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leona House
Ranked #73 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, good location, but ...”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

First the good news: Staff was friendly, the location is excellent and the breakfast is very good. The bad news is that the area can be quite noisy. On one of the four nights there was very loud club music until about 3:30am. Additionally the bathrooms need updating.

The biggest annoyance however arose from the fact that the hotel was classed as child friendly which later was explained as "We accept children in this hotel". The hotel certainly is not suitable for smaller children. It was very difficult to get into the B&B with the buggy and there was no other facilities for children such as children's cot or high chair. The fact that there was no cot was only brought to our attention 3-4 days prior to our stay which had been booked several month earlier - clearly to late to find another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    6
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
23
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Unfortunately our stay at Leona house was let down by the noise from the street, which had us awake at 3am each of the 3 nights we stayed there for the Bank holiday weekend.
The B&B is surrounded by bars and clubs to the side and opposite - we even resorted to turning the bathroom extractor fan on to at least have a constant hum rather than the crowds in the street. That said it is perfectly possible that if your room doesn't face onto the street you could have had a pleasant stay.
The website certainly oversells it and I agree with some of the comments on here about the landlord being scruffy and not particularly friendly. We were also charged payment upfront and parts of the breakfast fry up were clearly microwaved!
At least the room was nice enough, the location was very central and it didn't spoil our stay, but not one I can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodders08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This Hotel is perfect for a romantic Brighton getaway. The room was beautiful and the breakfast was out of this world!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I am writting this from my daughters computer as i do not think the reviews this B an B has got are fair or true!
me and my son stayed here overnight when we had to pick up my daughter from the airport when coming back from her honeymoon!
i think leona house a was clean with fantasti owners and you ven got a lovely dressing gown to wear!
also the breakfast was amazing and even filled my 6ft 8 son up!
so do not listen to the bad reviews and pay Leona a trip !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemrShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We were in Brighton for a conference and have just spent 3 days in this guest house. The location and the room was great.
Our hosts Paul and Hazel are lovely people and were very friendly. Good breakfasts each day. would recommend Leona House

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baby1watford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jokkkk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

first of all i was greeted by a scruffy hotel owner that simply grunted at me, he then made me pay on spot (in a demanding way) she was also very threatening, his hole attitude was as if he couldnt be bothered which is not what u expect from a small b and b, he gave me key to room and i was asked to pick wat time for breakfast, my room was located on the middle floor without a en suit it was quite chilly and the smell was very dank, the toilet for the room was just down a few stairs, this had a broken window and the door did not close (same with bathroom) i love how it states in their advert aromatherapy products and bath robe where??????? the breakfast was complete kak and ended up going to a cafe after. the money per room is way over priced for the service they provide PLEASE DONT RUIN YOUR STAY OF BRIGHTONN BY STAYING HERE

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkklllooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just back from staying at The Leona house B&B and my friend and I were very happy with our over all stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderfull. It was so close to everything. We could not hear any outside noise but were were to the back of the building. Its perfect for those wanting to be in the heart of the city and enjoy all that Brighton has to offer. The owners are lovely and took there time to get to know everyone who stayed

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanzecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#64 of 93 in Brighton
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leona House

Property: Leona House
Address: 74 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Hotel Class:4 star — Leona House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Leona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leona House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing