We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Welcoming”
Review of The Kelvin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kelvin
Ranked #49 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a nice little place in a great location. The people who run it are very friendly and welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay a good one. Rooms are smallish but very clean and the beds were comfortable. Nice, bright, airy feel to the rooms. Breakfast was cooked to order which was great. Parking was a bear, but you expect that nearly anywhere in Brighton. And the location of the guest house was unbeatable -- just up from Brighton's version of the London Eye with the pier and lots of great shopping and restaurants/pubs close at hand.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0ri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Location of this B&B could not be more central to nightlife and the beach - very clean and recently refurbished - owner and staff very friendly - nice breakfast which sets you up for the day would stay here again -

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went to Brighton for a civil ceremony ...Needed somewhere central clean homely and good value the kelvin ticked all the boxes ........ If we ever return to brighton we will be back ...... Thankyou to all the guys @ the kelvin :) Anne + Ian xx

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel was clean with frendly attentative staff.
Good breakfast and very close to the sea front with the pavilion a short walk away.
I would not hesitate to stay there again or recomend The Kelvin to others.
Within its price bracket I believe that 5 stars are well deserved

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Very good location
Amazingly friendly and helpfull staff
Very clean and cosy place
Rooms may be a bit small

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melchior_vR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Kelvin was situated in a great location for our weekend visting Brighton for the Great escape festival. Friendly& helpful staff, clean & tidy and a lovely breakfast. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Brighton and have stayed in a lot of hotels. Nothing beats the kelvin, it's location is fantastic and has a warming welcoming atmosphere with a team of wonderful people and breakfast was brilliant. I will definitely be staying at the kelvin again and again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbygreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#24 of 95 in Brighton
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#44 of 95 in Brighton
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#64 of 95 in Brighton
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#14 of 95 in Brighton
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 95 in Brighton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kelvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kelvin

Address: 9 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $73 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kelvin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kelvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing