We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Kelvin

The Kelvin
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kelvin
Ranked #55 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went to Brighton for a civil ceremony ...Needed somewhere central clean homely and good value the kelvin ticked all the boxes ........ If we ever return to brighton we will be back ...... Thankyou to all the guys @ the kelvin :) Anne + Ian xx

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
16
58
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BURNHAM-ON-SEA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel was clean with frendly attentative staff.
Good breakfast and very close to the sea front with the pavilion a short walk away.
I would not hesitate to stay there again or recomend The Kelvin to others.
Within its price bracket I believe that 5 stars are well deserved

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Very good location
Amazingly friendly and helpfull staff
Very clean and cosy place
Rooms may be a bit small

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melchior_vR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Kelvin was situated in a great location for our weekend visting Brighton for the Great escape festival. Friendly& helpful staff, clean & tidy and a lovely breakfast. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Brighton and have stayed in a lot of hotels. Nothing beats the kelvin, it's location is fantastic and has a warming welcoming atmosphere with a team of wonderful people and breakfast was brilliant. I will definitely be staying at the kelvin again and again!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelbygreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This B&B is in a great location, far enough from the main streets nearby, but tucked out of the way. It is a stone's throw from the beach and associated attractions, including the pier and the new big wheel!

The rooms are good sized for the type & age of building and most have an en-suite too. TV, tea and coffee facilities are provided in the room too. Our room was cleaned everyday by a really friendly cleaner.

The breakfast was fantastic. Always lots of good hearty food on offer and you could always alter the menu items to have a personalised breakfast!

Paul & Shaun were great hosts, always friendly and ready with advice on where to go and what to do locally. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Well looked after. Owners very friendly and was made welcomed. lovely breakfast, bacon was like a piece of gammon. Room clean and quiet. great position in kemp town. Good value for money and would stay there again. we love brighton so it made it a great weekend. angela and nigel x

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#60 of 93 in Brighton
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamptons Brighton
Hamptons Brighton
#53 of 93 in Brighton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 93 in Brighton
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#15 of 93 in Brighton
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#27 of 93 in Brighton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kelvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kelvin

Property: The Kelvin
Address: 9 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kelvin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Kelvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing