We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colson House

Colson House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colson House
Ranked #66 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very pretty, modern and clean rooms.
Good breakfast, nice hosts.
Central but quite position. Close to shops and bus routes.
(Don't remember about the internet connection to be honest:)
I would reccomend this place and I think I would choose it again for my stayed in Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valsi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    28
    9
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
63
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rudest managers I have EVER spoken too...the room was worse than a hostel....I'd rather never visit Brighton than have to stay there again. Totally ruined my weekend to the point I was calling up other hotels to see if I could get out of there...I have never left a review on here before, so please take this seriously!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth_sam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in the Clark Gable room. It has a lovely 4 poster bed, although a little creaky when turning over it was really comfortable. The room and bathroom were really clean and the room also had a fridge which was handy for keeping some drinks in.
The location of Colson House is perfect, a few minutes walk from the seafront and only five minute walk to the pier.
We never ate breakfast as we weren't up in time so can't comment on brekky. The owner was very nice and welcoming. It could be a bit noisy in the morning with doors banging which isnt really a problem unless your having a lay in which we were doing as it was a weekend away to chill out, having said that it wasn't until about 9am so not silly o'clock!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portsmouth_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Audrey Hepburn room for my birthday weekend and we enjoyed our time there. The room was clean and tidy on arrival and the owners were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The B&B is very close to the seafront and the centre of Brighton with many shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, which was very handy. The breakfast itself was fine, although the portion sizes could have been bigger. The owners allowed us to leave our baggage in the B&B on our last day after we had checked out and the B&B felt very secure as both doors were locked throughout the day and night. The only real fault would be with the staircase in the Audrey Hepburn room. Although i liked that the bathroom was up a staircase, it did not feel very safe after a couple of glasses of wine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cj922012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

A very nice B&B! Rooms very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and welcoming. What more do you need?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Despite the not so nice English summer, my friends and I decided to treat ourselves to three days in Brighton, and Colson House was our chosen B&B, and what a great choice!

The owners Mark and Eamon could not have been better, they were welcoming, extremely friendly and very entertaining. They offered such great advice on the local attractions, and even recommended a wonderful pub in which to enjoy a nice drink and good company.

The place was spotlessly clean (one of the most vital things for us), and the breakfast was scrumptious, keeping us full until way past lunchtime.

I could not recommend Colson House enough, clean, friendly, great location and wonderful hosts. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

On the day we were due to stay here my husband and I rang to to enquire what time we needed to check in and the man that answered the phone informed us that our reservation had been cancelled and that we were not welcome. When I asked why this was he became defensive and aggressive. I tried to reason with him and explain this was a romantic weekend for us and he swore at me and hung up. My husband rang back and the man continued to be obnoxious. My husband asked for a refund and he refused. It ruined our whole weekend and it later materialised that he had tried to take money for the other 2 days without our permission with the card I booked with even though we weren't welcome to stay there. Please take my advice and never set foot in this hotel. They are total cowboys and it is the single most awful experience I have had with a hotel in my life.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HannahHipgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Guest Accommodation
Avalon Guest Accommodation
#40 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#43 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#10 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#21 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colson House

Property: Colson House
Address: 17 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colson House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colson House is a beautiful regency building with eight ensuite double bedrooms, each one themed around a 20th Century movie icon... so you can choose from Audrey Hepburn, Bette Davis, James Dean and others. The Guest House is located close to the city's heart, so whether you are coming for business, conference, or pleasure, it's a great choice. All bars, restaurants, attractions and clubs are an easy walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Colson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colson House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing