We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Seasons Guest House
Ranked #48 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just back from a weekend break in Brighton, we stayed at the Four Seasons Guest House which really is 4 star * rating, we stayed in a king room which was very clean with a comfy king size bed, a lovely bathroom with a fab shower, large fluffy white towels and luxury toilet roll. Bottled water was put in our mini fridge every day and the breakfast was gorgeous. Would highly recommend and if every coming to Brighton again would love to stay. Thommy, William and Maria were lovely and made us very welcome :) thanks, Katie & Dan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    14
    2
    7
See reviews for
12
108
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay and I must say this is the standard I wish all guest houses would endeavour to reach. Our room was very nicely decorated, the shower room was small, but modern (and most importantly the shower had plentiful hot water). The guest house is well located, maybe 10 minutes walk from the town centre and close to the sea.

The owners were very attentive, breakfast was excellent, we had the English breakfast with a good quality sausage and bacon plus plentiful coffee.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Breakfast on both days was excellent especially the scrambled egg and salmon. The proprieters were friendly and helpful. We would definetly use this place again and the rates for the rooms were very reasonable. I was also able to book three rooms which was great as I was visiting with Family and friends .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break, and will definately be returning. Thommy & William are great hosts, very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the superior king room, which is decorated to a high standard with lovely original features.Toiletries and bottles of water were replaced daily. Very clean throughout, great choice of breakfasts, which are delicious and very well cooked. Great location, within easy walking distance of the seafront, the lanes and main town centre. All in all a great stay at a lovely b & b, thank you thommy & William.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyTriffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

No faults at all. Very friendly staff, breakfast was excellent, good location, very clean room, comfortable bed. I would rate Four Seasons guest house 10 out of 10. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay within walking distance of the pier and town centre. We will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmieroth1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in the compact double (top floor - about 3-4 flights up narrow stairs), they only accept 2 night minimum on wkends. Thommy & William make no unreasonable representations about it on their website - you open the door and BOOM there's the bed with about 0.5m perimeter of space around it and nowhere to put your bags/stuff, but it had everything you needed from a guest house - a TV, kettle, bottles of water, biscuits, x-large towels, hairdryer and bodywash. Great option for light travellers.

The heaters on the wall at the head of the bed, which another reviewer complained had "singed their hair" and meant no option to prop up pillows against it to watch TV. We used a spare blanket to "pad" against the heater which provided enough back support to sit up to watch TV. I didnt think it singed my hair at all, it was more of a slow heater system so they must've fixed the problem previously mentioned. Do bring your own body lotion though as is not provided and can potentially be quite drying.

The bathroom though compact was clean and functional (only small amount of black mould in the corners) and the room was modern and minimalist. The bedside lamps even dim! Breakfast (between 9-10am only) was great, my partner had a full english brekkie (egg, sausage, tomato, baked beans and hash brown), but theres also a veggie option (replace with veggie sausage), and I had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon which was delicious, croissant, juice and coffee.

I was pleasantly surprised that they made up the room and replaced the waters and soap which were used the first night. Unfortunately it is a good 15 minute walk from the Lanes/shops/centre of town, but I think in summer it would be a lovely option for anyone on a budget who wants to stay somewhere close to the water.

Thommy was very helpful and responsive to emails and queries and, William was equally friendly. Yes they can be a bit quirky - eg you have to sign a disclaimer warning about extra charges if you lose their electronic swipe key, wreck their property etc. when you arrive which is a bit strange and potentially can be offensive to some. Their website has very good "locals" suggestions as to what to do in the area.

There is a bus stop right outside the guest house, number 7 bus is very frequent and convenient for getting to/from train stations/shops/grand pavilion. Other guests have complained about the noise the bus makes pulling up to the door, but the compact double being located at the back had no issue with this! Its a 20 minute walk to the station, 15 min walk to the Pier/Lanes.

The only reason why I would give it 3 stars is because of the lack of space in the compact double. Really I feel this room should have been made a single room especially if the property is to have 4 stars. If you're not spending a lot of time in the room, are budget conscious and only need a bed to sleep this is a good option, but otherwise I'd suggest pay the upgrade to one of their larger rooms or stay somewhere else altogether for a bit extra but closer to the Lanes.

Room Tip: Compact double is at the top of 3-4(?) flights of stairs so if you dont like climbing and like your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed there over Christmas. We received a warm welcome and before arriving, Thommy had helped us find restaurants and gave us advice too. The rooms are small , simple, very clean. We enjoyed our breakfast (good choice of food).
It is close to the sea, the center of town. We walked everywhere from the guesthouse.


Thank you to Thommy and William.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doublemixte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Colson House
Colson House
#65 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Guest Accommodation
Avalon Guest Accommodation
#40 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Pier Guest House
Grand Pier Guest House
#37 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#54 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Guest House

Property: Four Seasons Guest House
Address: 3 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1826 grade 2 listed building, contemporary non- smoking seven bedrooms upscale, AA 4 star guest accommodation in Kemp Town, Brighton. All room are fully ensuite, tastefully decorated have new crisp white linen, fluffy white towels, free quality toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen multi channel TV system, as well as free wireless broadband. The building have no lift/elevator ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Guest House Hotel Brighton
4 Seasons Guest House
Four Seasons Brighton
Brighton Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing