We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, definately recommend.”
Review of Alvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alvia Hotel
Ranked #19 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, definately recommend.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Brighton. We booked this hotel on a KGB deal so didnt know what to expect. We recieved a lovely welcome from the owners who were very helpful on showing us where to visit and the best restaurants. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend The Alvia and Brighton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheluk352002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed meeting you all and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    74
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
149
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location as was only 2 mins from the beach, made to feel very welcome on arrival & helped with info on what to do in Brighton, as we had never been there before. Room was nice & clean but small, good breakfast which set us up for the day. Also was informed about parking situation which was most helpful. Overall a very good 2 night stay, would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HolisticAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had never been to Brighton before so everything was a first for us. Lovely welcome when we arrived with information supplied on places to go and explore and to eat all on a map supplied. Room and bathroom were spotless if a little small but as we booked a KGB deal we were not expecting a suite.The bed was extremely comfortable and room quiet at night. Breakfast was really good with quality produce. We had two great nights out in Brighton and went to one of the recommended resturants "La Capannina" an italian resturant which was excellent.
We will definately be going back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Skuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chafford Hundred, Grays
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Perfect position for everything. We stayed 2 nights. Easy walking to town and to the Brighton Centre where we saw a concert.
Great shops and nightlife.
Hotel brilliant-were made to feel very welcome. Was informed of good places near to eat etc.
Lovely room and tasty breakfast.
Will definitely go back !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lindabenson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed meeting you again and look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a delightful stay, booked two nights, lovely breakfast. Room was small but we did do a KGB deal so didn't expect much. Were made to feel very welcome. Overall would definately stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind remarks. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay at the Alvia and had to leave a review. I've stayed in many hotels and the hospitality and experience at the Alvia are second to none. It easily earnt it's 4 star rating and in fact it could probably put some 5 star hotels to shame. After a warm welcome from the owner he took our bags from us to take up to the room, gave us a free map and talked us around the sights to see/avoid and made several recommendations as to where to eat. We tried two of the restaurants he suggested 'Sawadee and the Regency' and enjoyed the food and atmosphere at both immensely. Thanks!
The rooms are spotlessly clean, have everything you need and are laid out very practically. The beds are so comfortable and considering the central location (2 min walk to the beach/centre), you couldn't hear a beep day or night, in fact I slept so well that for once I wasn't looking forward to going back and sleeping in my own bed!
The cooked breakfast was lovely and set you up for the day and I appreciated the owner's attention to detail with the warmed plates (which a lot of restaurants fail to do!) and well laid tables. Also the star of the hotel has to be Fred the owner's adorable terrier, he knows how to bend a few heart strings :)
If you are driving down you also have the option to pay £15 for 24 hours parking which we did, I would recommend this if you have a car as we found that parking in Brighton for 24 hrs can cost up to twice that!
If you want a peaceful stay in a quiet hotel situated at the heart of everything, with great service and friendly welcome you can't go wrong with the Aliva and I will definately be going back. Thanks for a great holiday!!!
Silvana

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirmilesJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive remarks. We enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to seeing you again. I hope you enjoy Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spotlessly clean, compact room 6 all we needed, and great blackout curtains, must get some, with a brief sea view, we stayed for 2 days and the room cleaned and refreshed on the next day.
Excellent breakfast. The Owner was very helpful, advising us on the best pubs and restaurants to go to. Had a very enjoyable time, great location short walk from the pier and centre. If staying for more than a day, get a saver bus day pass and leave the car parked and enjoy the pubs and restaurants without the hassle of driving and parking.
Thanks to the owners, also hope Fred found his Meerkat.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem choose a room on a lower floor but not a problem for us where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks; we enjoyed having you to stay. Fred found his meerkat and has been tormenting it ever since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvia Hotel

Property: Alvia Hotel
Address: 36 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvia is a five storey Victorian town house close to the sea and Queen's Park. It has been sympathetically refurbished and redecorated, and the recently re carpeted rooms, which are fully en suite, include flat screen TVs and tean and coffee making facilities. Our bright and sunny west facing dining room offers a comfortable place in which to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing