We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alvia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Granville Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$127
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$135
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$133
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$197
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
168
77
14
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
77
14
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bon arrivalsea frontshort walktwo nightspowerful showerlovely weekendcomfortable roombreakfast was excellentroyal pavilionfull englishenjoyed our staya lovely place to stayvisiting brightonflights of stairswonderful hostsbank holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 262 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We only had one day to explore Brighton and The Alvia was idealy placed for that purpose. It was an easy walk to all the main attractions we wanted to see. I.e The Pavilion, The Pier, Chcckywockydodahs etc. The hotel and service were of a realy good standard and the breakfast was quite substantial. If you are lucky enough to book a car parking space at the rear of the hotel then the worry of street parking is eliminated. We were a late booking so only managed to get a room on the third floor which was quite a hike up the stairs for us oldies. All in all this was a good experience and we would recomend this hotel as a good well priced place to stay.

Room Tip: Try not to get the top floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again, perhaps in one of the rooms on the first floor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked two rooms for this hotel under a KGB deal and when making a reservation I was told that only one standard room was available under the deal but I could upgrade the other room to a Superior room type for an extra £50.

As i wanted that particular weekend as it was my Birthday I thought why not treat myself, a superior room would be a nice treat. We were allocated room 9 and my sister was allocated room 6. to our disappointment room 6 and 9 were basically identical apart from 9 being very marginally bigger (enough to stretch your toes) with the same basic cheap furniture, wafer thin carpet, view of a lovely tower block and shower room. We also had to walk up extra flights of stairs for the privilege!!

When leaving the hotel my girlfriend noticed that room 10's door was a jar so decided to compare the two "superior" rooms. It was clear from the size of room 10 with a real size bed, sea view and decent furniture that this was the real superior room and we had been ripped off with at most the better choice of a very basic standard room, which left us with a feeling of being ripped off.

When arriving home I also noticed that they had charged me an incorrect amount for the upgrade, parking and additional fee for staying at the weekend. By this error we thought that maybe the hotel had made a mistake and placed us in the wrong room type so I contacted them with my freedback. The hotel's response was poor and they claim that the extra two feet of space classifies the room as a superior room. What a joke, we are no strangers to staying at hotels and know the clear difference between a standard and superior room. This was simply a greedy scam to claw an extra £50 back from the reduced price gained from the deal.

Do not be scammed into paying a penny extra for room 9!!!! It's a total rip off and the owners response very poor to the feedback given which is a shame as overall the hotel was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Although we are disappointed that this guest has had cause to complain there are a few salient points which have been omitted and which we feel are worth highlighting.

As the guest said, two rooms were booked under the KGB deal, at the cost of £69 each for two nights - this includes breakfast. Thus the cost of one fully en suite room, with breakfast, was less than £35 per night. We have two rooms in the KGB deal, one of which the guest booked; the other had been taken which was why the upgrade was offered. The cost of the upgrade is £25 per night, along with £10 per night for a weekend stay - making a total, for the room, of slightly under £70 per night, considerably less than the normal rate for the room (at this time of year £95).

When the guest first emailed to point out the overcharge, of £5, he stated that his girlfriend 'noticed' room 10, which is furnished in the Venetian style adopted by the previous owners. It now seems that this was more of an ad hoc inspection than a glance, although no reference is made to the bathroom in 10 - smaller than 9 - and it is worth noting that both 9 and 10 are carpeted with what the guest refers to as 'wafer thin' carpet.

We pointed out that room 9 is larger than room 6 and the bathroom in 9 considerably larger than in 6 - indeed, the bathroom in 9 is the largest in the house and this has been remarked upon favourably by other reviewers.

The £5 overcharge was credited back to the guest's card once the error had been pointed out. This was a foolish error on our part which we rectified once it was drawn to our attention. The guest also stated that he would be posting a review on trip advisor, perhaps in the expectation that we would feel obliged to refund the upgrade, which we do not. We will also point out that this is not a 'scam' and feel that such language is inappropriate; indeed, previous reviewers on this site have remarked upon the 'fantastic value for money'.

Finally, we note that the guest has given us one point for value. To recap, the cost of the room, with breakfast, was less than £70 per night, as opposed to £95 which, we feel, represents considerable value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a really smart little hotel. We booked for the weekend, needing to be near Kemp Town. It's a quick walk to the sea from the Alvia, to nice pubs and restaurants, and to shops in Brighton. The entrance to the hotel creates a smart, positive impression and when we visited the owners could not have been more helpful. Our room was light, modern and with plenty of space. Bathroom was fine also. The breakfast room looks much nicer than the photo on the website, and breakfast was lovely, made to order. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Susan_bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights and on reading some of the past reviews the hotel has obviously has a refub. It was very clean and modern, although keeping original features too. The welcome was ok, could have smiled a bit! We were told they needed a CC detail in case they needed to charge us extra for smoking in the room as past guests had done this. When I queried whether it was the room we were being given I was told no, but unfortunately it was and the room did smell. Also not sure whether it was the plumbing but the ensuite also had a nasty smell. The very new (very small) TV was fixed too high on the wall, so being a new flat screen TV could not really be appreciated as you needed to stand on the bed to see the screen clearly. The breakfast was really good and I would stay here again as very clean and good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I must admit i would have been disappointed with this room at the price we paid were it not for the location. It needed a good lick of paint, had mould and mildew on the net curtains, and was very cold during the day time. Shower was good and breakfast was nice. Tip: We were up two flights of narrow stairs so be aware of this when booking if you have mobility problems.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fudgie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonianm, Owner at Alvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We are sorry that you had cause to complain. The room has been completely refurbished since your stay, with the furniture and net curtains having been replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews