We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for trendy Brighton!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hertfordshire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for trendy Brighton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this small, old fashioned, Regency hotel in July 2013 and in June 2014 when it had been completely refurbished although the old lift is still there in perfect working order. What do people expect for a clean en-suite room in a good location (near the Hilton) for £55pn B&B ?! The hot buffet breakfast with cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juices is available 8-10am with large plates and dishes on the counter - small plates are for toast! Drinks, snacks and dinner can be ordered in your room from the excellent Regency restaurant next door.

The clean, comfortable beds are made daily and towels are changed daily. There is plenty of hot water and the usual toiletries are provided. Most rooms are large and airy with sea views though at weekends the 1st and 2nd floor rooms are often taken by noisy hen and stag parties so the 4th floor is better then. My advice for a 7 day holiday is to book the 4th floor for Fri/Sat and the 1st/2nd for Sun-Thurs. Even the Hilton is noisy at weekends because of drunken revellers:(

The hotel is in a quiet Regency Square sideways onto the sea but with good views of the sea and excellent swimming and cafes across the Promenade by the old West Pier. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and Brighton's excellent shopping Centre is a short walk away. (Kemp Town and The Lanes are at the other end of the Prom.)

The manager and staff are friendly and helpful at all times although I expect they can get a bit fed up with noisy/drunken guests:( This comfy little hotel will serve you well if you treat it with the respect it deserves for its old age and unfashionability:)

Room Tip: Large 2nd floor rooms have large windows but no balcony but are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    53
    33
    32
See reviews for
35
70
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

It was a good and pleasant surprise! We stayed in room 11, just over the reception, so lucky because we had wifi all the time (usually just in reception area). Friendly staff, good location and.... C H E A P prices compared to all the other hotels in Brighton.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daltaniux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked 4 nights had a great stay staff very friendly we stayed in room 15 which was very big a nice bay window looking on to the sea nice breakfast good choice room cleans daily great value for money very well located for shops and beach enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robin_anne_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 13 other guys stayed here as part of a stag do at the beginning of July.

Check in took a little while and the hotel looked a little rough round the edges but soon we were off to our room.

We had a room in the basement and entered, surprised to see a third bed as there was only 2 of us.

The room was pretty shabby with no wardrobe to hang things and I was underwhelmed to say the least.

Towels and shower gel/shampoo are included on the beds.
We settled in, showered and suddenly another guest opened our door and said reception had given them the room.
After sending them back to reception we realised we had entered the wrong room and quickly gathered our stuff to take to the right room.
I'm still not sure how we got in to both rooms but the second room was much nicer. (Room 3)

More modern with nice bathroom and shower. Big TV, desk and chairs. Coffee/tea, kettle.
2 beds!
However it did have poorly fitted curtains, poorly secured fire alarm and an unsecured light switch.

The walls were pretty thin and it was loud at times but overall I was happy.

Breakfast was ok. Coffee was terrible! Cereals, scrambled eggs, sausage, something that resembled bacon, beans and toast.

The location was very good and a big car park is just across the road. £20 for 24 hour stay.

Overall it's worthy of 4 out of 5 for location, friendly staff and the nicer room. But if I was given the first room my review would would have been a 3 at best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank leefromdanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here as part of a friends hen weekend package deal, which cost us £240 for two nights. For the hotel and the events included this was expensive having now been through it. The hotel on arrival is shabby and dated but nothing untoward.

The reception staff were helpful, we were asked to read and sign a form upon arrival, closer inspection of the form tells you if you lose your key there is a £160 charge to replace this. However, no where on the form does it say that the key must be handed into reception whenever you leave. The receptionist informed us of this, which begrudgingly we did this. However, on return to collect our key a simple room 42 and we were handed over a key, no checking of ID or asking for any details!! When we questioned the staff on this he seemed bewildered, the guy had never seen us before so how did he know that was actually our room! The security was bad.

Our bedroom door would only shut if slammed and yanked, with only an old style bathroom door knob style lock to ensure our safety, as females, and also that of our belongings. This was very disappointing.

The room was tidy, but not clean. The mattress divan cover was stained and clearly had not been washed for a long time, even had hairs on it. The duvet cover had what i hope were red wine stains on. The carpet was new-ish, but very poorly fitted. Curtains were hanging off, unable to draw them.

The walk up to the rooms is not great, the stair well is worn, dirty, and the walls are damp with paint peeling off. When you get to the 3rd floor the stairs to the 4th floor where my room was are cramped, no more than 60cm wide..Not something you wish have to run down if there were a fire.

The tables in the breakfast room were sticky, and stained with years worth of cup grime.

Finally to top it all off..the bathroom was clean however the shower (a handheld shower head over the bath - not attachment to the wall) had hot water not very often, it would turn cold suddenly and then no water would flow at all. This was a problem faced by many of our group. Finally we could not have a shower and resorted to having to shower when home.

The water is also undrinkable as pointed out by signs, if you leave it to stand white sediment appears at the bottom - not good.


All in all..Not a great stay..poor to say the least.
The one and ONLY saving factor is the location.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here .. the 4th floor had good views, but with an unsafe stairwell. we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at the Beach Hotel in May 2014. I would probably rate it somewhere between 3 and 4....but it depends on what you want in a room.

There are many good things: the location is great. You are right on the water, and next to Regency Square where people walk their dogs every morning. Next door is the Regency Restaurant, a great place to eat. Walking distance to shopping, the Pavillion, the Pier, etc.

Room 14 is a family room with a double bed and two single beds. It's a great family room. Large. It has great floor to ceiling windows and a water view. It also looks over regency square. The bedding was clean and we liked the room. It has character and felt comfortable.

Also, the staff were very nice. The breakfast was very nice, in a cute dining room.

Some items that may be negatives for some guests:
-there is a tiny one person lift, so really, you must use the stairs. This may be a hassle if you have a lot of luggage. The hallways are narrow and maze-like.
-wifi only works in the lobby, and it goes in and out
- there is no thermostat in the room. Our room was cold, and the bathroom was freezing. Two of us found it too cold to take a shower.
-there was a space heater in the room, but it didn't work.
-The large windows open, which is nice. But the tiny balcony was littered with cigarette butts. It was gross.
- building is a bit run down, some cracked windows, etc.

So, it is not a fancy hotel. It is a character hotel. Great location, great price.

Room Tip: Room 14: family room. Water view. Can sleep 4 easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I attended a conference in Brighton between the 19th and 22nd May. I had initially booked from the 18th but a change in plans meant that I had to cancel the 18th. This was no problem for the hotel as they amended my booking without any fuss whatsoever. The Beach Hotel is just a few minutes’ walk from the Brighton Conference Centre, where I was attending a conference. I booked in after conference, on the 19th. Check in was quickly dealt with by the friendly member of staff at the front desk. My room was a large double with huge bay windows, which let in a lot of natural light. The beds was comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean and well stocked with soap, towels, tea and coffee sachets. I was pleasantly surprised with the en suite double room that I was allocated.

I had 3 nights very comfortable sleep at this hotel. Breakfast, on the one occasion I had it (I’m not a breakfast person), was very nice and tasty. Again the dining room staff were very polite. Overall a very nice stay and excellent value for money (I booked via Booking.com).

One thing that other reviewers have mentioned is that this hotel seems a little run down. It is a large building and the decor could do with sprucing up. A few layers of paint would smarten the place up tremendously. However there is nothing major that needs to be done. The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The corridors are clean and tidy and the reception area likewise.

The hotel sits in a large square of Victorian buildings. It is literally next to the sea front and only 5 minutes’ walk into Brighton city centre. The added bonus is that there is an excellent Lebanese Restaurant in the next street. In fact there is a small restaurant quarter very nearby, so you are spoiled for choice, gastronomically. As a base for exploring Brighton I would definitely recommend the Beach Hotel. It's not a palace but it's large and comfortable and staffed by helpful employees. It's reasonably priced too. I'll certainly use it again next year, room availability permitting.

Room Tip: My first floor room (no 12) was very large with huge bay windows and overlooked a pleasant square. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyL_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: 1-4 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing