We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet”
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brighton House
Ranked #13 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Safe bet”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice place and good location. Healthy food and a good team here. Regency Square is a busy place so can be a little noisy but is compensated by all the good things. Location, Hotel Service etc. if you are looking for a fry up in the morning this isn't the place for you. Has a very healthy lifestyle buffet and everything you need really.

Room Tip: Room 36 overlooks Regency Square and has a balcony with a view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Brighton House. We are all very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back n the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    147
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
254
108
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Brighton House for a short break last week and found it to be as good as last year. Our room (first floor balcony) was clean and comfortable with a big bed, cotton sheets and easy chairs - plus chairs and table on the balcony which has a sea view. Breakfast was a very wide choice of cold items (plus boiled eggs) with good quality tea. Service was welcoming, pleasant and helpful and we will certainly return when next visiting Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Rosemary, Thank you for returning to stay with us this year at Brighton House. We are all really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feed back which is very help for us. We hope you have a great year ahead and look forward to welcoming you back in your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

From start to finish, excellent helpful service. Happy to hold bags before checkin and after checkout, to suit. Room small and up lots of stairs but that's Britain for you! Breakfast was amazing. Room clean and comfy. Central to everything (I was on foot so that was essential). Very reasonable price for shoulder/busy season. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Brighton House. We are all really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel five years ago and it was as good as we remembered.
A warm welcome after a stressful day and a kind gesture from the owner to celebrate a special birthday.
Wonderfully relaxing rooms with the most delightfully comfortable beds and soft linen. Organic breakfast with something to tempt every palate. Locally sourced produce and friendly service with nothing too much trouble. The location could not be better. Try room 36 for a dreamy over large bed with a balcony to match with sea view. We loved it so much we stayed another night, easily moved to room 39, another comfortable room. Calming décor added to this hotels charm.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for such lovely kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

You soon find out on arrival 'The Brighton Hotel' has 70 stairs over six floors, no lift (I knew this before making my booking) but the stairs from the fourth floor to the top floor are very steep and you have to be fit to get up and down them, Certainly not for the un-fit amongst us!!
There are 48 rooms in the Hotel, the room I was in? Was room No 48 right at the top. Yet I booked the Hotel months ago, such is the fate of the single traveller. I was disappointed with the room very small, and some paint falling off the walls in the corner of the room. I have to say the rest of the room was clean and the en-suite OK. The pillows I noticed had stains on them (inside the pillow case) but I only noticed on leaving otherwise I would have complained.
However the 'Breakfast' was 'First Class' could not fault it and also the breakfast service. It's a shame about the steep stairs and small single room otherwise it would have been a pleasant stay. There is no bar or lounge facilities for the guests so its room only here. I would not book this Hotel again as I know I can get better value elsewhere but maybe not as good a breakfast. Such a shame but there it is!! I can forgo the breakfast for better facilities. I have stayed in worse Hotels, but also for the price? A lot better!!

Room Tip: Rooms above the fourth floor have very steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Brighton House. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room that you had been allocated. Our budget single rooms are as they are marketed. Very popular with single guests and provide an economic alternative for single travellers on a budget. We do make it very clear to our guests that we do not have a lift and the amount of stairs we have. We hope you find suitable accommodation next time you visit Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just a few meters to the beach, this Hotels has a great location, with subsidized secure parking just outside. The staff are really friendly and accommodating. I arrived late, and had to call for access - very clear instructions and everything was easy. Room was quiet and well appointed, with all essentials, including free wifi. Great breakfast Buffett with very healthy choices and home made bread. Traditional B&B in s great setting. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of Brighton House. We are all really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do remember to let us know you are a returning guest to receive your 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had a double room 47 for single occupancy overlooking Regency Square and my friend 46 on the top floor. Lots of stairs we knew about in advance so not an issue for us. Bed was extremely comfortable, lovely crisp linen. Well stocked tray for tea/ coffee etc. Room size was ok for me.My shower was fine but friends was a bit weak she said. Flat screen tv with good choice of stations. Staff very friendly, helpful and customer focused. Excellent quality products for breakfast and a good choice as other reviews below mention, Super coffee, cheese and ham and prosecco available too. I would definately stay here again. Good location £6 taxi to station or a 12 minute walk.

Room Tip: Low floor if mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPFCeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Brighton House. We are really happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do remember to receive your 10% discount when rebooking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Property: Brighton House
Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing