We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brighton House
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Una(Brighton)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Legends Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$133
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)
$117
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$210
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveler rating
452
153
25
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
153
25
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsregency squareorganic cakehouse catfresh fruitcold meatscontinental styletop floorposter bedno liftsingle roomlovely roombuffet breakfastflights of stairslocation was perfectbiscuitsexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 641 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently stayed at Brighton House for a few days. I booked Brighton House as my first choice of accommodation wasn't available, due to travel on a short notice. I've stayed at other properties on Regency Square so I was familiar with the area. The staff were all welcoming, pleasant and helpful. My room was small, with minimal appointments (no real clothes closet), but considering the property it wasn't unexpected. The bathroom was tiny and so the shower but I managed. Breakfast was adequate and the service was cheerful. I don't have any complaints about Brighton House; it's not going to overwhelm you but it shouldn't disappoint either. No surprises.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have trouble with stairs select a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pje56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are saddened that you found us unsurprising. We pride ourselves on some of the little touches that seem to please our other guests, both new and returning. This includes our breakfast that offers a plentiful and alternative take on the usual continental breakfast. We hope that you may return to us one day so you can experience our other rooms as our budget singles and small double can be on the smaller side but they do suit the lone traveller or couples looking for an economical nights stay. Regards, The Brighton House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a very rainy weekend at Brighton House for our annual Christmas shopping weekend. It is a comfortable and quiet traditional style bed and breakfast. Although minutes from Churchill Square, the Lanes and the seafront, it is a quiet retreat set in an iconic Brighton square. It is impeccably clean and they think of everything - even a hot water bottle tucked discreetly on the back of the bathroom door, welcome homemade cake in the entrance, a well-stocked fruit bowl and of course the gorgeous Mr Watts (resident fluffy cat) is the perfect host.

The breakfast is impressive - a continental flavour and an emphasis on organic and healthy options. It was very tasty indeed and a good start for a mooch around the town. We both admired the effort gone into preparing a veritable feast!

Our booking was fairly last minute, so we had relied on trip advisor to make the right choice and it lived up to every review we had read.

A perfect bed and breakfast - this is how hospitality should be.

p.s. Make sure you venture to the end of the square and slightly up Kings Road to try out the Melrose and their impressive fish dishes

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skichick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you like our take on the continental breakfast and the many choices it has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton and hopefully the Brighton House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed here for a few days whilst visiting Brighton. We really enjoyed our stay and found this to be an excellent b&b. Quiet, comfortable rooms and a fabulous breakfast - the best boiled eggs every morning! They have so many little touches like home made cake left out for the guest and a gorgeous cat as resident. If you want a reasonably priced place close to anything you would want to visit in Brighton I would recommend this. I for one will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiirkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your nice words. We look forward to welcoming you back and offering you the return guest discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked to go with Friends to Brighton to celebrate my husbands birthday. We checked in on Friday 16th November, had a very warm welcome from Carl and satyed in room 36, it was lovely, great big comfy bed and a balcony that over looked the Square and the Sea!! We had read good reviews and understood that there was no lift and no cooked breakfast!! Wasn't an issue at all, actually it was nice to experience something different. The hotel has a lovely family feel, the staff are extremely friendly especially Mr Watts their beautiful cat who spent quite a time snuggled up on my lap while he was fussed!!! It's a hard life Mr Watts!!! It was also a nice touch having home made cake to nibble on throughout the day and night and taste the home made tangerine marmalade Carl made, delicious!!! (Thank you for leaving me the recipe Carl!!) At breakfast we could have bucks fizz which was a great start to the day, all the other guests were friendly and chatty and that's probably because we were all made to feel so welcome and at home!! I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we are already planning our next trip to the Brighton House Hotel. Thank you for making it such a great weekend!!! Selina & Michael Sapsford

Room Tip: Room 36 is on the first floor, great big comfy bed, great view of Regency Square and the Sea!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of Brighton House. We are all really happy you enjoyed our stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at Brighton House with friends, What can I say, Brighton is a gem and as a first timer I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, it was relaxed and friendly (unlike many uk resorts) quirky, fun and charming with the lanes shopping eating and drinking experiences to die for with all tastes and influences catered for, i have no negatives to say about the place. Our accommodation was chosen and booked with the help of one of our groups many previous visits and recommendation, we were definitely not disappointed. From check in to leaving I found Brighton House facilities and staff to be excellent, our room well equipped, comfy beds and linen, decor and rooms clean and tidy, en suite with plenty of hot water and complimentary shower gels etc already provided if needed, good breakfast times so you could have a lay in if you chose to and an exceptional continental breakfast with too many items to list on offer plus the excellent attentive hospitality and service provided by our hosts (well done guys). I am already planning my next visit to Brighton and Brighton House Hotel. Thanks again and see you soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrumpysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews