We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIP WITH FRIENDS FOR GOODWOOD REVIVAL EVENT”
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brighton House
Ranked #13 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PARIS (France)
1 review
“TRIP WITH FRIENDS FOR GOODWOOD REVIVAL EVENT”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very good an hotel, nice staff , nice place. Single rooms are not very tall but include all necessary equipment and are not expensive at all. Very good breakfast, smily and friendly management always ready to help you in any case. An excellent return for money. I shall return to that hotel asap !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLVPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We all enjoyed looking after your group and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    147
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
253
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked here for a weekend away from the routine to celebrate a 50th birthday and it fully lived up to the best of its Trip Advisor reviews. Friendly welcome, allowing us to drop our bags off and return later on to find them taken up to our room for us; lots of genuine advice on suitable restaurants (including a bit of Googling to find us the telephone numbers). Room (No 42) was clean, quiet, very well appointed, and with a good view over the Square; nice to find a decent selection of tea-making equipment in the room, too, with mugs instead of those pathetic little cups you usually get! The location is just right - close enough to the Lanes etc to make everything walkable, but far enough away to escape the noise of a Brighton Saturday night out. Breakfast was spot on, with friendly service and a tasty selection of food on offer. We particularly appreciated the 'green' credentials of the hotel - lots of different jars of jam with spoons and serving dishes instead of fiddling little individual portions, and a dispenser of good quality shower gel in the rooms, again scoring over the titchy and wasteful individual bottles. Oh, and of course, the cake and cat were as advertised! We'd very happily come back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review on Brighton House. We are all really happy you both enjoyed your stay with us. Room 42 is a quiet room which is really popular and we are happy you found it comfortable. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The welcome I got from Mark made me think that this was going to be a good experience - home-made cake and a help-yourself-policy for fruit.
I've never stayed anywhere that I've experienced such good service from everyone - thank you, Oliver for looking after me so well!
Delightful small room - loved having a balcony to sit on.
Lovely fresh linen and towels - comfortable bed - I slept really well.
Yummy, healthy breakfast. It mattered to me that this hotel took "organic, Fairtrade & ecological" seriously.
Only suggestion - hot choc in the room?
I'm trying to think of a good reason to return to Brighton asap so I can visit Brighton House again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you Sheila for your lovely review of Brighton House. We are all really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to giving you a warm welcome when you return. please do remember to use your 10% returning guest discount when next booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahat, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked the room with the four-poster bed which wa spacious and well thought out. Bonus a fan in the closet for hot days so that the air could be circulated. Breakfast was quite spectacular with mnore selection than we could possibly think of.

Unfortunately, the downside was that the bed had a lumpy mattress and sleep was fitful because of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of Brighton House. We are sorry to hear that your nights sleep with us was affected by the comfort of the mattress. We are going to be replace the mattress due to your review. We do hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed here before and the return visit was as good as always. Great staff, wonderful breakfast and good location. Rooms vary according to size and location. I tend to have a small room at the front with a balcony and view to the sea - can take two but that would be a push. Organic food, good focus on recycling and reducing waste. Beautiful renovated Georgian House - my home from home in Brighton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good view over the square and some will have sea views too. Without an el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
As always, it's a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I must say that I had a cool reception when I arrived about 20 mins before the check-in time... I've left my luggage in their care and when I got back in the late afternoon it had been brought to my room (which was nice since it was located on the 3rd floor). Its a good thing that the room had a large enough window (with a view of the "garden") facing East. The room and its en-suite bathroom (a bit on the narrow side) was clean enough (a few little things had been overlooked but one can live with it) but I never spent much time in it. The really great thing about the Brighton House was its breakfast which offered a nice variety of food (the chocolatines and the sparkling wine on Sunday morning) and the lovely lady from the Isle of Malta. Its location was very good, as it was near Churchill Square (buses, Post office, shopping etc...), the sea front was a short distance away (as well as many restaurants located on King's Road and on Preston Street). When one arrives by train its fine to walk down, but to get back to it is all uphill (a good 20 mins with luggage but one can hop on the No 6 bus to the station, from Churchill Square). On the whole I had a fine stay and felt safe at this hotel; I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had no trouble sleeping, but a room facing the back seemed very quiet... Its a lot of stairs, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out certain points to the budget rooms. We do market the rooms to point out their size and the location on the upper floors but it always helps for potential guests to be reminded of these points. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast too! We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton House and remind you of our return guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coutances, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed one night in Brighton and I wanted to give my French husband an authentic English guest house experience. Wonderful welcome, I really appreciated the help with suitcases up to our room, and the fresh fruit and cake was great. Nice room, excellent tea and coffee tray, bathroom beautiful (although showering in The roll top bath was a challenge) comfy bed, all in all a lovely place to stay.
Organic breakfast, a lovely soft boiled egg, great service and lots of choice.
Parking in the underground car park in the square once the car was unloaded, then walkable to all the things we wanted to see. Gorgeous weather too, we were lucky, thank you for making us feel so welcome, Mr Watts.
Frances and Michel from Coutances, France.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Brighton House. We would love to welcome you back to take advantage of our returning guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Property: Brighton House
Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing