We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Cosmopolitan Brighton
Ranked #85 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Got this hotel on a deal website £80 for 2 night. Nice and cheap, so wasn't expecting much. On entering the hotel to check in, there was no one at reception. When a young man finally appeared, he did not speak to us at all, we said we wanted to check in, he took the voucher off us, answered his mobile, and while on the phone just handed us some keys. Found our room number on the keys, made our way up about 5 flights of uneven stairs in dark corridors to find the room. Light switches in the corridors did not work, so had to feel our way. The key took about 10 mins each time to open the door, but didn't feel we could talk to staff after the "welcome" we had. Lovely view once in the room. The room itself is what you pay for, what you expect. Good furniture, simple but usable bathroom - nice. Radiator didn't work, mattress had springs sticking out all over, next door had someone in there at all times smoking, drafty windows letting cold in. Breakfast was done VERY quickly, which is brill but did not feel well after. Once again awful service, the young man took my partners order then walked off and assumed we would both have the same. Glad we experienced it, it is a great location, staff REALLY let it down for me. If they were approachable, I'm sure our problems could have been resolved.

Room Tip: If you get a sea view room, it will make up for the rubbish interior throughout the rest of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna-Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 615 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend away, the location is great and the views of the pier are lovely. There seemed to be on only one gentleman working the entire weekend who worked his socks off and did his best to accommodate, the room was cleaned every day to a good standard The hotel itself needs seriously updating, the windows were screwed down so not only could you not open them for air, you also couldn't get out in case of a fire. The lock on the door was broken so was accessible to anyone with a key!, the carpets needed a good steam clean and the general paintwork throughout was dire.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We a group of friend booked 2 rooms for a night out in Brighton. The 1st room which we will talk of as "the good room" was nice and draughty, the radiator did not work - after which we brought to the attention of the staff assured us it would be working in 10mins as the pipe was hot.....the radiator did not work in 10mins or for the rest of our stay for that matter! the toilet also refused to flush in this room. Okay so the not so good room, while the heating worked in this room, this was about the only thing that did, the tv did not work, no remote was to be found for the tv and the buttons on the tv itself were broken off! house keeping wasnt brilliant either after we noticed primark bags hanging in the corner holding rubbish that were clearly forgotten in the cleaning of the room...what else was missed? there was a sink randomly placed in the middle of the bedroom while there was none to be found in the ensuite?!! there was also a funky stinch which we were unable to get rid of as the window wouldn't open...somethings you may be able to get over but shouldn't have to when you are paying £40 per person.
To "breakfast" - i wouldnt set the alarm for it, we got the full english which was doled out in 5mins so was clearly after being heated up... everything was crispy and i'm not sure sausages are supposed to be green?!!.....basically you would wanna be pretty stuck to stay here!!:(

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed in this Hotel for a girls weekend. On arrival we were late but we were greeted warmly and given our keys.

The Hotel was being refurbished so there was scaffolding on the outside. We opened the door to the Hotel and were blasted with heat, I am unsure what the heaters were turned up to but it was suffocating. We were on the 3rd floor and by the time we reached it we were roasted.

The room was small but had a tray for tea/coffee, table and chairs and a decent TV. The temperature in the room was comfortable. The shower room and toilet (very compact) could do with a bit of TLC as the grouting and flooring was scruffy as was the silicone around the shower. On the plus side there was lots of hot water. The carpets are old and could do with changing as there are a few stains around. The curtains did not have enough hooks so they were hanging off a bit on one side.

The beds were comfortable enough and the sheets and towels were crisp(very) and clean.

When we woke in the morning after a good sleep and tried to exit the room for breakfast, we found we could not. The latch was broken and we could not budge it. Unfortunately there was no phone in the room and it took us time to find the number for the Hotel in our bags to raise the alarm that we were stuck. They had to break the lock as they could not unlock from outside either. This did cause us a lot of concern as fire risk was massive.
To try and rectify the situation the management were very apologetic and offered us a room on the front of the building with views of the Pier, which was more spacious. The only problem here was the lock did not work on the window, which incidentally were very dirty and could do with a good clean.

The Hotel allowed us to keep our bags in the Reception until our late afternoon flight, which let us to do a bit more shopping.

We did have a reasonable stay here but I would recommend that you check your locks and fire exits from the room. I hope that our door lock issue gave the staff a shock and hope that it was a lesson learned and they have reviewed their fire precautions.

All in all good value, friendly staff and very central easy walk to all the attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Grand it aint, but if travelling on a budget this is a perfectly respectible B&B. Its well located for the beech/wheel/pier/town centre and at £75 per double room per night B&B is represents good value.

Clean & tidy the place could do with a bit of TLC but that would be nit picking. The staff are friendly, helpful and the breakfasts very good, so all in all good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the backi as you can hear the drunks going home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am well travelled and have stayed in all types of accommodation, this must be the worst!! I didn't think of looking on here before I booked, a lesson well learned .. Yep, the scoffolding is still there and we were told upon arrival 'we are painting the front of the hotel' obviously a lie after reading the previous reviews from months ago!! Well, the room, we had a sea view room looking over Brighton Pier, if you can see through the scaffolding and dirty windows! The room was freezing as the windows are obviously very old and drafty. The bed, if you can call it that, looked prehistoric and as per previous comments, once your on it you are scared to move in case it wakes the whole neighbourhood it was that old and squeeky! Not to mention broken door handles, no remote control or hairdryer, looking at the pics on here I wouldn't imagine it was the same place, old scruffy carpets and lino that didn't cover the whole bathroom floor, seriously, if I didn't book on a very cheap deal I would definately expect my money back, surely there should be some standards for places to run as licenced B & B's!!

Room Tip: Do Not Book Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CYJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,658 reviews
1.5 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cosmopolitan Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cosmopolitan Brighton

Address: 29-31 New Steine | Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PD, England (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $51 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Cosmopolitan Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A *** b&b with sea view, brilliant location, excellent service and everything else to make your stay pleasurable and unforgettable. We offer great value accommodation in our lovely Brighton B & B just a stone throw away from the beach. We have 36 comfortable tastefully decorated rooms. All of rooms in our b&b are equipped with colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Most of our rooms have beautiful view over world famous Brighton pier and the sea.The New Cosmopolitan is located in a prime position in Brighton New Steine, one of Brighton's famous seafront garden squares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Cosmopolitan Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing