We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend in Brighton”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #40 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great couple of days in Brighton for Easter. Found the Amherst guesthouse on Expedia fairly last minute and very glad that we managed to bag the last room. Excellent value for money in comparison to everything else that was available. The location was perfect, 5 minutes from the pier and other main attractions. For a little extra cost we had room service so had our complimentary breakfast in bed which was a great touch. We would would highly recommend the Amherst on a number of different levels. Thank you for making our stay very comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Amherst Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

My Gf and I stayed at amherst for over two night.Lee and Marcus were more than helpful with providing us some great tips for the local area and making our time at the hotel carefree and special. Next time we are at brighton we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholasoconnor861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed in room 8 (double bed, for single occupation) and I was very impressed with the room. It was pristine and stylishly decorated. The bed was very comfortable, there were plenty of soft pillows, and a very clean shower room. The wifi in the room was quick and easy to access. Breakfast was wonderfully organised with lovely cafetiere coffee. Marcus and Lee were very welcoming and very helpful with everything from maps of Brighton to help with parking and being kind enough to look after my bag on my last day. I felt very well looked after and hope to be able to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamakiMau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a lovely two night stay last weekend. Marcus and Lee are very friendly hosts. The junior suite (no 5) is well appointed with sea views. Breakfast is good. We liked the kemp town location as it is near to everything. Thank you, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonacoLostAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very happy with our choice of the Amherst for a 2 night break.
Nothing was too much trouble & Marc & Lee were very genial hosts.
We had room 5 which was a suite so you had more room with a sofa, coffee table & small dining table with 2 chairs.
Spotlessly clean with very comfy bed & pillows & had just been decorated.
Plenty of very hot water (so take care), not a criticism by the way! Shower over the bath & plenty of products, plus hairdryer in wardrobe.
We both had the complimentary continental breakfast which was very good indeed with melon or grapefruit, cereal or porridge, croissants & toast plus tea/coffee & juices. The porridge was excellent & served with some mixed berries.
I booked direct with hotel & found the process very easy.
The stairs are many & narrow but our bags were carried to the room for us, so no problems there.
This is a great location for the varied shops & restaurants of both Kemp Town, The Lanes & Brighton itself.
We ate in The Townhouse at the end of the road so very convenient for walking back to the B&B. Highly recommended.
Overall very good value for money, in a good location with great hosts.
Thank you Marcus & Lee.

Room Tip: Junior Suites give you more space & room 5 has 2 big sash windows with a side view of the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed in the junior suite (room 3) and had a great stay. Great room, comfy bed, powerful shower, great breakfast (upgraded to full English for £6), warm welcome. I will definitely be back, what a great little guesthouse at the top of kemp town, only 10 minute walk to Central Brighton. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Room 3 - junior suite! Lovely cosy room. I booked directly on hotel website for cheapest deal.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This B&B/hotel is ideally located being close to the front, the pier and the centre of town. It is far enough away that it has its own local life of bars, pubs and restaurants. Marco who runs the the B&B is genuinely funny and can not do enough for you. He is extremely helpful and not looking to rip you off. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and is provided with a few treats some of which are chargeable (bottle of wine £10 which i thought very reasonable) and some of which are gratis - tea, biscuits, crisps etc.
Great value for money and when i next visit my daughter i will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hary8216534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 94 in Brighton
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#41 of 94 in Brighton
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#56 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#38 of 94 in Brighton
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#6 of 94 in Brighton
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#26 of 94 in Brighton
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $68 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing