We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amherst Brighton
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$154
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$233
$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$153
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$197
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$147
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lanes Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
255
45
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
45
6
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 310 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great welcome from lovely hosts with a good sense of humour. Clean and comfortable room with a decent shower and some thoughtful "just in case" supplies. Good breakfast without needing the cooked option - they call the Continental breakfast "light" but, if you have all the things on offer you'll be full until lunchtime. The location is fantastic and we will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Amherst is Fab, definitely as good as it looks in the photos. Marcus and Lee are kind, helpful and lots of fun. Would love a night out with these two! The rooms are warm, clean and just a little bit special. The bed was like a huge marshmallow, the smellies were above average, and all costs were reasonable. Enjoyed our breakfast, especially the porridge with fruit. The hotel is a five minute stroll from the beach, shops and some nice little cafes. This was our first visit to Brighton, we couldn't have been happier!!

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem, choose a lower floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWDAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, it is always great to hear positive feedback. You were excellent guests and both Marcus and I look forward to your return visit.

Thank you again you excellent Guests!!

Regards

Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Marcus who helped us to find a car parking space just out the front and advised us when we would need to move the car etc. So helpful, especially when parking can be quite difficult in Brighton.
We were upgraded to a Junior suite and it was incredible. Really charmingly decorated with a gorgeous bay window. The tea and coffee facilities are brilliant and the minibar was great, unusual for a b&b but a lovely touch.
Breakfast is continental (included) or full English for a small fee but you choose what you would like the evening before. A really personal touch that I loved.
Will definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone planning a visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Marcus and Lee were amazing hosts. Nothing is to much for them and they made us feel so welcome. Our room was all the way at the top, with a stunning view of the beach. The room was immaculate, spacious yet cozy and the bathroom was the kind of clean where its almost as if you were the first to use it. Our bed was truly scrumcious to get into. Lovely mattress with fluffy quilt and pillows. The decor is lovely too, which got me thinking about redesigning my own room! Breakfast was amazing even though it was a normal cooked breakfast, but the sausages were so tasty and the whole thing seemed to be totally grease free.
Overall I had a brilliant stay here and would defo reccommend anyone to stay here. I will be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coco1baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation it was our pleasure having you both stay during such a wonderful event. It is always good to have feed back on our guests stay.

Both Marcus and myself look forward to you both staying again some time .

Best regards
Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here the night before her wedding. Lee and Marcus went out of their way to make it a special evening.
Considering her pre-wedding nerves we slept so well...extremely comfortable beds.
The breakfast was wonderful and set us up for the full day ahead. Thank you both so much

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful kind words, it was our pleasure having you both stay during a special time. It is always great to have positive feed back from our Guests it ensures us that we are on the right track.

Thank you again both Marcus and myself look forward to seeing you again soon, if not sooner.

Best Regards
Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews