We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here!”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #38 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great welcome from lovely hosts with a good sense of humour. Clean and comfortable room with a decent shower and some thoughtful "just in case" supplies. Good breakfast without needing the cooked option - they call the Continental breakfast "light" but, if you have all the things on offer you'll be full until lunchtime. The location is fantastic and we will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Amherst Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 310 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Amherst is Fab, definitely as good as it looks in the photos. Marcus and Lee are kind, helpful and lots of fun. Would love a night out with these two! The rooms are warm, clean and just a little bit special. The bed was like a huge marshmallow, the smellies were above average, and all costs were reasonable. Enjoyed our breakfast, especially the porridge with fruit. The hotel is a five minute stroll from the beach, shops and some nice little cafes. This was our first visit to Brighton, we couldn't have been happier!!

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem, choose a lower floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWDAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, it is always great to hear positive feedback. You were excellent guests and both Marcus and I look forward to your return visit.

Thank you again you excellent Guests!!

Regards

Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Marcus who helped us to find a car parking space just out the front and advised us when we would need to move the car etc. So helpful, especially when parking can be quite difficult in Brighton.
We were upgraded to a Junior suite and it was incredible. Really charmingly decorated with a gorgeous bay window. The tea and coffee facilities are brilliant and the minibar was great, unusual for a b&b but a lovely touch.
Breakfast is continental (included) or full English for a small fee but you choose what you would like the evening before. A really personal touch that I loved.
Will definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone planning a visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Marcus and Lee were amazing hosts. Nothing is to much for them and they made us feel so welcome. Our room was all the way at the top, with a stunning view of the beach. The room was immaculate, spacious yet cozy and the bathroom was the kind of clean where its almost as if you were the first to use it. Our bed was truly scrumcious to get into. Lovely mattress with fluffy quilt and pillows. The decor is lovely too, which got me thinking about redesigning my own room! Breakfast was amazing even though it was a normal cooked breakfast, but the sausages were so tasty and the whole thing seemed to be totally grease free.
Overall I had a brilliant stay here and would defo reccommend anyone to stay here. I will be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coco1baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation it was our pleasure having you both stay during such a wonderful event. It is always good to have feed back on our guests stay.

Both Marcus and myself look forward to you both staying again some time .

Best regards
Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here the night before her wedding. Lee and Marcus went out of their way to make it a special evening.
Considering her pre-wedding nerves we slept so well...extremely comfortable beds.
The breakfast was wonderful and set us up for the full day ahead. Thank you both so much

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful kind words, it was our pleasure having you both stay during a special time. It is always great to have positive feed back from our Guests it ensures us that we are on the right track.

Thank you again both Marcus and myself look forward to seeing you again soon, if not sooner.

Best Regards
Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel couldn't be in a better location; right on the sea front and with the town's shopping area within a short walk. The welcome at the hotel was perfect. The 'Guys' love to chat and cook up a hearty breakfast as a good set up to the day. If you're planning a trip to Brighton: stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Great to have you stay here at our little gem by the sea. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here in our fabulous city.

Be so good to have you back soon.

Marcus&Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, could have stayed all week. The hosts were great (even when we locked our selves out late at night) The location is very good, everywhere is walkable, good selection and excellent quality for breakfast. Our room was not the biggest but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again, the Amherst is excellent in all areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asbo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests...just pleased you found the keys in your pocket the next morning!

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and can't wait to have you back.

Lee& Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 94 in Brighton
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#44 of 94 in Brighton
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#56 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#39 of 94 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#6 of 94 in Brighton
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#25 of 94 in Brighton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing