We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B, fab hosts, great breakfast”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #38 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Amherst on the same weekend as a previous reviewer and are baffled by their review.

The Amherst is a lovely little townhouse converted into a charming B&B in a great location, our room was surprisingly large and full of little extras you would't ordinarily get in a B&B - snacks, toiletries, a decent hair dryer. Lee & Marcus couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming, they are friendly without being intrusive.

The only possible negative was outside their control, and that was the presence of a very rude couple and their toddler.

Recommendation: Have the full English breakfast - it's seriously good!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Amherst Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Been before and will definitely visit again. The rooms are lovely and extremely comfortable, the location is close to just about everything and the welcome from Marcus and Lee is second to none. Being a bit fan of the full English breakfast, I must comment on how super the breakfast was and in particular those fabulous sausages. Like Arnie said...."I'll be back!"
Celia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and choosing to stay at the Amherst Brighton. We do pride ourselves in our sausages and so glad you enjoyed them.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and we will definitely be coming back. Nothing was too much trouble for these guys. Really enjoyed it and thank you for making our weekend such a treat... We even had personal reccommendations where to eat in brighton and it was fantastic. So nice to stay somewhere that isn't a chain and is run by two such knowledgable frindly people who obviously love their jod and know the city so well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollyLondon908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

There are plenty of good things to say about this B&B; comfy bed, etc., but since these things have already been said in other reviews, I'll stick to the headlines.

We paid £140 for a junior suite plus parking and we felt that this was too expensive for what we got.

Our room, number 7, was very noisy, until the early hours. We could hear loud music and singing/chatter, probably from the house next door. The owners were unapologetic and seemed slightly sceptical about this when we asked about it.

In the morning we asked for late check out as we hoped to get some more sleep so that our day wasn't a complete write off. We were told that late check out is not possible unless booked in advance, our room needed to be cleaned. There was no apology for the noise. I didn't hold them responsible for the noise but an acknowledgement of the lack of sleep and an apology would have been nice, as would some flexibility around check out; an extra hour would have helped us a lot and would surely have been possible to arrange.

There were no high chairs for our 19 month old to sit in at breakfast and the owner refused to close the interior or exterior doors leading to the dining area, so feeding our son was very difficult, our son kept leaping off his chair and racing for the stairs, as 19 month olds do.

The owner said that the Amherst is not a family friendly hotel and that they post this on their website; which is fair enough; but we booked through late rooms and we called the B&B to make sure that they could accommodate us and no one mentioned that they were not family friendly. You can buy high chairs for £20 so I thought that it was surprising that they hadn't bought one. In the end we decided to go and have breakfast somewhere else as it was very uncomfortable and my partner felt that the owner had been very rude.

I found one of the owners to be quite defensive when he received feedback or requests for flexibility and this is backed up by the owners' comments on previous reviews. I understand that they may have put a lot of themselves into the B&B but taking feedback personally won't help them to improve and suggests an inherent lack of respect for customers. There is a lot of good stuff to build on - comfy beds etc.- but guests shouldn't be made to feel small for raising issues. At the end of the day a simple apology and some kindness goes a long way. It wouldn't have made me any less exhausted but it would have made me feel better.

The B&B is close to clubs and is probably a very good choice for young people who go out clubbing and get back late and don't mind noise.

if you are a bit older and more sedate or have kids then I'm not sure that it is a good choice. Room 7 is very noisy, perhaps the others are ok. Either way, as the man said, it is not family friendly at all. I think it would be better if the owners were up front about that when people call to enquire so that their guests know what to expect.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Firstly thank you for your review and critical feedback. Secondly just a few facts that you misinformed us about.

1. Room rate was in fact £130.00 for a Junior Suite and £10.00 for 24 hour parking. Not as you stated £140.00 plus parking.
2. You did not book through Laterooms.com you did indeed ring us the night before and booked with us direct.
3.Our check out time is 11am and we did give you the room until midday as a goodwill gesture so your comment about not accommodating you is unjust.

On arrival at the Amherst you seemed very stressed and were quite rude on checking in. We understand it is not easy with a 19 month old in tow but there is no need to be rude. ( I think the fact that you had forgotten all your youngsters milk and supplies did not help ) . The room you had was a large size and newly decorated and situated at the front of the building with
sea views. You were offered the use of our travel cot which you declined.

You rang us at midnight with noise issues which we were apologetic about and the you decided to come down and bang on our door to sort the problem out. Lee came up to your room with five packs of extra earplugs which are supplied in all guest rooms mostly for seagull noise in mornings (I do not know how many ear plugs you can fit into one ear)! There was no evidence of noise as our nearest night club is actually seven blocks away and the Amherst is situated in a residential road. We are always apologetic to our guests if they are not happy and pride ourselves on customer care which all previous reviews prove.

We have had many guests with children stay here but to be honest have all been slightly more organised. Our breakfast system is a night before menu which we did not receive from you and so your sudden arrival into the dining room was a surprise. If you had let us know we could have organised an earlier/later breakfast or indeed delivered it to your room with our compliments.
Your issue with the fire doors is unjust as this is a health and safety issue with people carrying large trays of food to other guests without having to unlock three sets of doors they are legally magnetically opened for this reason. We do have other guests to consider.

You stated that we said we were not family friendly. This was said as an industry prospective as the building is not designed for toddlers running around with low tables and stairs. It is a townhouse built in 1880.

You stated that older guests should not stay here and 'Clubbers' should! May I point out that the majority of our guests are older and we pride ourselves on our repeat custom and previously stated we are a 15 minute walk to the clubs.

You maybe pleased to know that we listen to all of our guests and now supply seat attachments for toddlers and babies.

May I suggest that when you travel you take enough nappy bags with you because on entering your room to find you lost wallet there was a large amount of dirty nappies not in bags which is quite smelly.

Thank you once again for your feedback and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Amherst hotel is in a perfect location. Our room was lovely and very comfortable.
Lee and Marcus made us feel extremely welcome and were very informative from the moment we arrived.
We would recommend the full English breakfast to anyone!
Will definitely be returning to the Amherst hotel on our next trip to Brighton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking time to write a review. it is always so very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times it is always a pleasure to go back lovely friendly staff.The rooms are always a good size and really cosy.It's in a geat location surrounded by bars anr restaurants and shops I love Brighton and all it has to offer and this is a great base to go and explore.The breakfast is fatastic and a great selection not a bad word to say.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akroscommon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

It's always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests/friends. We are so pleased you had another great time. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked our Easter break here after reading the great reviews and were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome from Marcus on arrival who helped us sort parking and our bags, which he swiftly deposited in our room. We booked a junior suite which we loved. Great bed, fantastic pillows, comfy sofa, great shower and good views of the sea.

We have visited Brighton several times over the last couple of years but never visited this area before and we loved it. Marcus and Lee gave us some great tips on places to eat and see in the area. The guys made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The biggest compliment I can give the guys is to say how comfortable and relaxed we felt as soon as we arrived and we never lost this feeling throughout our stay - so much so that we booked our next visit in August after our first nights stay!

The guys are warm hearted, hilarious and great hosts who care about giving their guests the best service. So if you want to stay somewhere that is clean, great value, comfortable with excellent service and with great hosts who are willing to go that extra mile, then book here. Looking forward to our next visit, can't wait to catch up with the guys and enjoying a few laughs.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite if you want plenty of room, room 5 had enough space for a sofa plus table and ch...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147DawnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review, it is so good to hear that we are getting it right, it makes it all so worth while.
We so look forward to seeing you again in August, 2013.
Till then take care,
Best Regards,
Marcus & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 94 in Brighton
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#44 of 94 in Brighton
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#56 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#39 of 94 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#6 of 94 in Brighton
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#25 of 94 in Brighton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing