We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amherst Brighton
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$273
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$158
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$231
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$136
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
$196
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Blanch House(Brighton)(Great Value!)
$181
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
255
45
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
45
6
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 310 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What can I say? Great Welcome, great hosts, great hospitality, great room, great location and great time had. This reviewing lark is so so difficult because it's a reputation on the the line. Lee and Marcus need not worry though.

From the warmest of welcomes to the additional night without hassle, to the invite for complimentary evening drinks, The Amherst earned everyone of it 5 blobs. The room it's self was well presented and in an area with so much competition in the 'boutique' stakes, maintaining that must be hard work in itself.

I take my hat off to Marcus and Lee and have no hesitation in recommending The Amherst to all. Brilliant job !

Room Tip: Main road to front, but that also presents sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0nfr0mL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just came back from Brighton and was very surprised about the prices of hotels and the quality of them. Its crazy.

Brighton is quite nice (but not very well kept). The pier and some of the attractions in the city are very old fashioned and nothing justifies the price of hotels.

That said, I looked for a B&B or a boutique hotel and found the AMHERST for a reasonable price and decide to give it a try.

The hotel is just beside the see in a very nice area of the city, Kemp Town, a place full of nice pubs, restaurants, shops and very close to the city center.

Its a typical English house with 3 floors and 4 rooms and where the sitting room should be there is a nice lounge where you have breakfast.

The owner/s, two very nice chaps take care of the Hotel and are very nice and kind. The rooms are great. Mine was an individual one, not too big but very clean and nice, it had everything I needed including Flat Screen TV, DVD player, small fridge, free bottle of water, nice shower and great shampoos and gel (they smelled really well).

My colleague got a double room, very well decorated, MUCH bigger and very nice. Very clean. The towels smelled really well. This B&B or boutique hotel was cleaner, tidier and nicer than most of the nig chain hotels.

Had a perfect sleep, bed was comfy and got also a few great dinner recommendations.

Continental breakfast was included but we decided to go for the English one, which was charged at an extra 12 pounds which I now think it was way too much, specially because 30 seconds away there are a couple of cafes where you can have breakfast for half the price. NEvertheless the breakfast was good, with nice and fresh OJ and toasts, etc.

Parking may be a bit of a problem as the areas surrounding the hotel are for just locals from 9 to 8pm. We did find an spot but I assume in the summer or weekend it would be more difficult.

In summary, good hotel, good option, great rooms and service and, compared with other places in Brighton, correctly priced.

I would return with no doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I travelled to Brighton to celebrate a rather large birthday and this time stayed at the Amherst for two nights. Lee and Marcus were very welcoming, and genuinely friendly and they had even put a couple of 'Happy Birthday' banners up in my room to greet me and offered a free bottle of wine from the mini bar. The room was comfortable, as was the bed ( lovely) lots of light, and well appointed - right up at the top of the house with a view over the town, the ferris wheel, and you could see the sea from one of the windows. I travelled with a friend and we both stayed in single rooms, and hers was also comfortable but lacked the view that I had. It was pretty noisy on the first night as some of the 'Pride' weekend festivities still going on and there was some very loud music just down the road, but our hosts had very thoughtfully provided ear plugs just in case!
Continental breakfast was included in the price and there was a good deal of choice. For around £6 a full English breakfast was on offer as well.

Home from home, really!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artistperson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just back from brighton stayed at the amherst wot a wonderful guest house lee and marcus are the most fantastic hosts ever even if you where travelling alone they make you feel so welcome nothings to much trouble,room two was amazing breakfast was excellent great location two minutes from the beach its our second time with marcus and lee and will definitely be booking to go back soon,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from brighton and stayed in this lovely guest house. The owners Marcus and lee are very friendly and the service is great. Even with a hangover they still put a smile on your face! Stayed in the junior suite and it's very clean and nicely decorated. Perfect size for 2. Location is great. It's in the gay area and only 10 min walk to the other main shopping / nite life area. Only good things to say about this little hotel and hope to go back. It's a bit pricey but hotels in brighton seem to be dear enough especially on the sea front which this practically is. Would still go back though as you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upgalway81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews