We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton Personified”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #38 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brighton Personified”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What can I say? Great Welcome, great hosts, great hospitality, great room, great location and great time had. This reviewing lark is so so difficult because it's a reputation on the the line. Lee and Marcus need not worry though.

From the warmest of welcomes to the additional night without hassle, to the invite for complimentary evening drinks, The Amherst earned everyone of it 5 blobs. The room it's self was well presented and in an area with so much competition in the 'boutique' stakes, maintaining that must be hard work in itself.

I take my hat off to Marcus and Lee and have no hesitation in recommending The Amherst to all. Brilliant job !

Room Tip: Main road to front, but that also presents sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0nfr0mL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
189
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just came back from Brighton and was very surprised about the prices of hotels and the quality of them. Its crazy.

Brighton is quite nice (but not very well kept). The pier and some of the attractions in the city are very old fashioned and nothing justifies the price of hotels.

That said, I looked for a B&B or a boutique hotel and found the AMHERST for a reasonable price and decide to give it a try.

The hotel is just beside the see in a very nice area of the city, Kemp Town, a place full of nice pubs, restaurants, shops and very close to the city center.

Its a typical English house with 3 floors and 4 rooms and where the sitting room should be there is a nice lounge where you have breakfast.

The owner/s, two very nice chaps take care of the Hotel and are very nice and kind. The rooms are great. Mine was an individual one, not too big but very clean and nice, it had everything I needed including Flat Screen TV, DVD player, small fridge, free bottle of water, nice shower and great shampoos and gel (they smelled really well).

My colleague got a double room, very well decorated, MUCH bigger and very nice. Very clean. The towels smelled really well. This B&B or boutique hotel was cleaner, tidier and nicer than most of the nig chain hotels.

Had a perfect sleep, bed was comfy and got also a few great dinner recommendations.

Continental breakfast was included but we decided to go for the English one, which was charged at an extra 12 pounds which I now think it was way too much, specially because 30 seconds away there are a couple of cafes where you can have breakfast for half the price. NEvertheless the breakfast was good, with nice and fresh OJ and toasts, etc.

Parking may be a bit of a problem as the areas surrounding the hotel are for just locals from 9 to 8pm. We did find an spot but I assume in the summer or weekend it would be more difficult.

In summary, good hotel, good option, great rooms and service and, compared with other places in Brighton, correctly priced.

I would return with no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I travelled to Brighton to celebrate a rather large birthday and this time stayed at the Amherst for two nights. Lee and Marcus were very welcoming, and genuinely friendly and they had even put a couple of 'Happy Birthday' banners up in my room to greet me and offered a free bottle of wine from the mini bar. The room was comfortable, as was the bed ( lovely) lots of light, and well appointed - right up at the top of the house with a view over the town, the ferris wheel, and you could see the sea from one of the windows. I travelled with a friend and we both stayed in single rooms, and hers was also comfortable but lacked the view that I had. It was pretty noisy on the first night as some of the 'Pride' weekend festivities still going on and there was some very loud music just down the road, but our hosts had very thoughtfully provided ear plugs just in case!
Continental breakfast was included in the price and there was a good deal of choice. For around £6 a full English breakfast was on offer as well.

Home from home, really!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artistperson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just back from brighton stayed at the amherst wot a wonderful guest house lee and marcus are the most fantastic hosts ever even if you where travelling alone they make you feel so welcome nothings to much trouble,room two was amazing breakfast was excellent great location two minutes from the beach its our second time with marcus and lee and will definitely be booking to go back soon,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from brighton and stayed in this lovely guest house. The owners Marcus and lee are very friendly and the service is great. Even with a hangover they still put a smile on your face! Stayed in the junior suite and it's very clean and nicely decorated. Perfect size for 2. Location is great. It's in the gay area and only 10 min walk to the other main shopping / nite life area. Only good things to say about this little hotel and hope to go back. It's a bit pricey but hotels in brighton seem to be dear enough especially on the sea front which this practically is. Would still go back though as you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upgalway81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at The Amherst over the May bank holiday with my girlfriend and it was brilliant. Lee and Marcus are fantastic hosts, nothing was too much trouble - parking permits were ready along with great advice on the area. Breakfast was really good, with a lot of choice and the room was well above the normal B&B standard. I would recommend this B&B to anyone, we loved our stay there!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A lovely place to stay. One road away from the sea front. Two great hosts who had a genuine warmness to them, you felt welcome from the moment you stepped inside the house. Nothing was too much trouble. We had the top room, and whilst there were loads of stairs the room was fabulous, clean roomy and extremely comfortable.

I would recommend staying here to anyone wanting to be near the sea. You must also try the cooked breakfast, the scrambled eggs were to die for so light, I wish I could make mine like that.

All in all a really good place to stay you couldn't want for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 93 in Brighton
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#26 of 93 in Brighton
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#74 of 93 in Brighton
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#42 of 93 in Brighton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Property: Amherst Brighton
Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing