We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Foodie Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 64 Degrees

64 Degrees
Ranked #18 of 1,111 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tucked away in the Brighton Lanes, 64 Degrees is a small restaurant with an open kitchen by Great British Menu finalist Michael Bremner. Our passionate chefs concoct an evolving menu of tasty small plates using fresh, local produce. We hold a Bib Gourmand by Michelin and won Best Restaurant at the Brighton & Hove Food Awards 2014/2015. We were voted 16th in the National Restaurant top 100 list 2016 as well as being voted number 1 restaurant at the Brighton's Best restaurant awards 2016 & 2017.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Foodie Experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have just come back from a lovely experience at 64 degrees . Lovely food , great atmosphere and charming staff . We will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    125
    63
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The tummies of four rumble - alas we are left hungry”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is going to make me sound like an absolute philistine. I loved what they've done with the old tic-toc cafe space. The open kitchen is very Tokyo chic. There's a lot of attention from the wait staff (though at times bordering on patronising.)

The food is delicious - beautifully cooked and presented. But the portions... SO small. SO sad and small. We were a group of four, none of whom are obese gluttons. However we left still hungry. And went for a second meal... I want to be a bit embarrassed about that but I'm not. For all the skill and artistry shown with the food preparation/quality, the prices and sizes smack a lot of the Emperor's New Clothes. Sorry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worthyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A new level of restaurant experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Don't even think of trying to get in to this restaurant on a Friday or Saturday without a reservation but other times of the week are worth a try as a walk-in.

A very cool 'edgy' vibe with superb staff and the most open kitchen I have ever seen - it's like a sushi bar up at the counter - eating from the pass! I haven't been closer to the kitchen since Barcelona and Los Caracoles Restaurant - where you have to walk through the volcanic heat of the kitchen to get to the restaurant.

The food was eclectic, amazing, unusual, fusion-from-allover in a tapas style. My one criticism would be the wine list doesn't have a prosecco and that's about it. Deserves a star or two if you know what I mean…

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M1keB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“£10.50 for a sliver of Venison Haunch”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

There's definitely an attempt here to do something really quite cool in Brighton, and the minimal dark decor, skylight and bar seating work to set the atmosphere - there's a praiseworthy emphasis on locally sourced ingredients and the staff are charming.

But ladies and gents, on Saturday 2nd August, when I ordered the meat dish 'Haunch, Kimchi, Gem, Norbury' @ £10.50 I expected more than what arrived: one thin sliver of venison steak - no more than a single mouthful of meat, sat on a leaf of lettuce. I obligingly shared it with my wife, before thinking "Delicious or not - that is extremely expensive for a mouthful of food" - well, 1/2 a mouthful if you share.

The Moose Head Beer was hop heaven. Some small plates had inventive flavour combinations - others unfortunately lacked that little bit of seasoning that would have made the flavours sing.

After 5 plates, we considered a coffee and then, alas, thought again when I checked the price of a macchiato on their menu - sadly just about anywhere else would most definitely be better value.

Small plates are all the rage, and personally, I love the concept - Qimet y Qimet in Barcelona being the daddy of all small plate tapas restaurants. But there's nothing on the delicious Qimet menu that leaves you feeling so short changed - and they don't even have seats, it's a stand-only venue. With ingredients like caviar, and a killer location in Gaudi's city, you wonder how Qimet do it - or perhaps more pertinently, you wonder how the prices at 64 Degrees could be so high.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobetrottingDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
254 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“food is amazing”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I really enjoyed this restaurant. We ordered 8 dishes in all, and I want to return to try the remaining dishes on the menu. Sardines were fresh and well cooked, chicken with cream cheese and kimchi was amazing, salmon and watermelon with a wasabi mayonnaise married odd ingredients for a perfect flavour combination. Vegetable dishes were great and desserts were heavenly.

The restaurant is small, but that's no bad thing. Music was far too loud, and this was the only thing that spoilt the experience. I had come to talk to others and that was made difficult. Having to give up the table after 90 mins (to the minute!) is also less than hospitable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 64 Degrees also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to 64 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing