We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Treat!”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Treat!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a night in this gorgeous hotel during half term. It's situated literally seconds away from Brighton seafront and right in the heart of Kemptown. Loads of places to eat, drink and see within really easy walking distance. Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the garden. The breakfast was huge and absolutely delicious and the staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. This is a real gem of a hotel and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    42
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
166
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Would highly recommend The White House when visiting Brighton...perfect location just less than 10 minutes walk into the centre. Nice and peaceful. Sean and Georgie very welcoming from first call and Georgie meeting us on arrival ....delayed by M25 so arrived quite a lot later than anticipated!! Sean kindly had upgraded us to Room 1 which was a delight and so appreciated. Breakfasts perfect tooo! Will definitely be back hopefully in the warmer weather as The White House is just a short stroll from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the sofa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The White House B&B is without a doubt a pleasure to stay at. Georgie runs a very clean and tidy place with well decorated bedrooms and very comfy beds. We found the place after trawling though the Internet although its not the cheapest place to stay it is the best place to stay in Brighton being well place to walk to most places of interest. The breakfast is well cooked and presented by some fella called Shaun although the fried bread needs work. We have a wonderful 3 days in Brighton due to being able to stay here. I would recommend the place to anyone as it is a pleasure and I would go as far to say an honour to say there. Once again thank you Georgie for having us.

Room Tip: I can't cause I needed stay in all of them but room 2 does it for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyOnthesofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very enjoyable stay. The rooms were spotless and the breakfasts were amazing. Great location with a nice walk down to the pier. Definitely be staying again as also has a very friendly, inviting atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyfmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Perfect is a strong word to use...BUt when you cannot find a fault, it seemed to be the correct word to use!
The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Also the choice of 5 different breakfasts was "the icing on the cake!"

Thankyou Sean, you will see us again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Really friendly place, nice boutique feel, at B&B prices
Excellent food and great recommendations for places to eat. Sean, running the place, was chilled out and friendly, and the breakfasts were excellent. Just wish I'd had the chance to stay more nights to try the fish #1 and fish #2 breakfasts...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Agree with all previous 5 star reviews. Room clean, comfortable and we were surprised how quiet it was (having room overlooking the road), Delicious breakfasts! Sean helpful (parking advice, buying in bottle of wine) And short walk away from town centre but we enjoyed spending time in the 'junk /vintage' shops and markets on the way into town. Would thoroughly recommend

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EpsomJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing