We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
38
65
40
44
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
65
40
44
64
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 251 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a lovely hotel, the staff are so friendly and helpful, we had a nice sea view and a balcony, the bed was comfortable, we slept like a log, it really made our stay in Brighton perfect, A big thank you to all the staff, back again in July.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great base to stay when visiting Brighton. Great hotel to wake up in & retire to at night. This is our second stay at this hotel & it wont be our last. We have enjoyed the comfort of 2 different rooms & both have been more than satisfactory. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our rooms are visited by maid service everyday (not something you expect when on a weekend break). Very freindly &helpful staff at all times of day & night. Breakfast is a must plenty of choice. Good local produce used & ample portions to set u up for the day. Would recomend hotel with out a doubt & we will be booking again later this year. Parking is a nightmare in Brighton, so definately worth letting the train take the strain & enjoying a 15 min walk through the north laines (a must) to the hotel (& those of u interested in modern art will c a real banksy on the way) or hop in cab (less than 10 mins) .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crippsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel on a 2 night KGB deal. Excellent location and within walking distance of attractions. We travelled by train and from Brighton station the no 7 bus sets you down in St James's Road, a short walk from accommodation. Our room (No 4) was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Without exception the staff were welcoming and friendly and although breakfast on the first morning was something of a 'Faulty Towers' experience - the food was freshly cooked and tasty. Great value for money - who cares if the furnishings are tired looking - we only went for B&B, not to spend any time in the place. Breakfast good, bed extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: You don't really need a room with sea view as you just step outside and the sea + promenade are a short walk away.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wasn't expecting to much from reading the reviews but very pleased and suprised.
Had stayed in a B&B a few doors away from The Ambassador before and this is much better.
Yes the interior is dated, my room was small but perfectly fine for me - the furniture is all dark wood which makes it appear gloomy and the floors are wonky but that adds character!
Had an amazing sleep due to the super fluffy feather duvet, comfy pillows and black out heavy curtains. My room was at the back of the property (21) and had no sea view but the sun flooding through in the morning made up for that.The sheer privicy blind was a nice idea so you do not feel overlooked. Very loud seagulls be warned - they are in surround sound here as you are so close to the sea so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs. Shower was great - powerful and hot with a selection of showergel, shampoo etc - nice touch. Breakfast GOLD STANDARD!!!! All local, all hot, nice choices for veggie/vegan/gluten free guests..... swift service with a smile.

Thank you - will reccommend to friends and will stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March on a KGB deal. We paid an extra £25 a night for a sea view - a side sea view in fact. The public areas are very tired, probably due to the fact that their week business seams to depend on groups of students in late winter/early spring. First impressions were not good - frayed carpet on the stairs, probably due to the volume of traffic. Room was well decorated but the furniture was tatty - big hole in wardrobe. Can't complain about cleanliness of room and towels. tea/coffee etc provided, but something is missing - not sure what it is. Cooked breakfast on the first morning was very good. Second morning was totally different as we wanted a 'continental' breakfast and it appeared that there wasn't much available - guess they ran out of stuff after 2 nights of European students.
We paid £ 8.50 per day's parking and a bit disappointed that they charged an extra £1 per day just for giving a permit. Brighton is very expensive, but it's unlikely that we'll stay here again. Can't believe that they get anyone to stay at their 'rack' rate.

Room Tip: Extra charge for 'sea' view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disgruntled44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews