We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location shame about everything else!”
Review of Ambassador B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambassador B&B
Ranked #80 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great central location overlooking a lovely square, however that's where the positives end! We stayed on a KGB deal for £99 for two nights- definitely not worth a penny more. After 'checking in' which consisted of someone handing us a key and grunting that it was on the 3rd floor (no lift) we struggled up the endless narrow flights of stairs - carpeted with vomit smelling threadbare carpet that should be condemned, we then entered our reasonably sized room. The room 32 was situated at the front so had a wonderful view of the sea and the square. I looked around for the bathroom and thought to my horror that we'd been given a room only- but on further inspection my husband slid the cupboard door open to reveal the worlds most compact avocado ensuite!! The shower didn't work properly, scalding hot and the ceased completely if you tried to add any cold!!!!! The bed was clean, although there was a long black hair on one pillow (I'm blonde!!). Breakfast was ok, just remember to allow yourself time to travel down 47 flights of stairs first!!!!
Shame because the location is great- desperately needs a make over!!

Room Tip: Plenty of other nicer B and Bs in the same location, so do your research first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaquaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 235 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a lovely hotel, the staff are so friendly and helpful, we had a nice sea view and a balcony, the bed was comfortable, we slept like a log, it really made our stay in Brighton perfect, A big thank you to all the staff, back again in July.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great base to stay when visiting Brighton. Great hotel to wake up in & retire to at night. This is our second stay at this hotel & it wont be our last. We have enjoyed the comfort of 2 different rooms & both have been more than satisfactory. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our rooms are visited by maid service everyday (not something you expect when on a weekend break). Very freindly &helpful staff at all times of day & night. Breakfast is a must plenty of choice. Good local produce used & ample portions to set u up for the day. Would recomend hotel with out a doubt & we will be booking again later this year. Parking is a nightmare in Brighton, so definately worth letting the train take the strain & enjoying a 15 min walk through the north laines (a must) to the hotel (& those of u interested in modern art will c a real banksy on the way) or hop in cab (less than 10 mins) .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crippsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel on a 2 night KGB deal. Excellent location and within walking distance of attractions. We travelled by train and from Brighton station the no 7 bus sets you down in St James's Road, a short walk from accommodation. Our room (No 4) was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Without exception the staff were welcoming and friendly and although breakfast on the first morning was something of a 'Faulty Towers' experience - the food was freshly cooked and tasty. Great value for money - who cares if the furnishings are tired looking - we only went for B&B, not to spend any time in the place. Breakfast good, bed extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: You don't really need a room with sea view as you just step outside and the sea + promenade are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wasn't expecting to much from reading the reviews but very pleased and suprised.
Had stayed in a B&B a few doors away from The Ambassador before and this is much better.
Yes the interior is dated, my room was small but perfectly fine for me - the furniture is all dark wood which makes it appear gloomy and the floors are wonky but that adds character!
Had an amazing sleep due to the super fluffy feather duvet, comfy pillows and black out heavy curtains. My room was at the back of the property (21) and had no sea view but the sun flooding through in the morning made up for that.The sheer privicy blind was a nice idea so you do not feel overlooked. Very loud seagulls be warned - they are in surround sound here as you are so close to the sea so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs. Shower was great - powerful and hot with a selection of showergel, shampoo etc - nice touch. Breakfast GOLD STANDARD!!!! All local, all hot, nice choices for veggie/vegan/gluten free guests..... swift service with a smile.

Thank you - will reccommend to friends and will stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrish76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March on a KGB deal. We paid an extra £25 a night for a sea view - a side sea view in fact. The public areas are very tired, probably due to the fact that their week business seams to depend on groups of students in late winter/early spring. First impressions were not good - frayed carpet on the stairs, probably due to the volume of traffic. Room was well decorated but the furniture was tatty - big hole in wardrobe. Can't complain about cleanliness of room and towels. tea/coffee etc provided, but something is missing - not sure what it is. Cooked breakfast on the first morning was very good. Second morning was totally different as we wanted a 'continental' breakfast and it appeared that there wasn't much available - guess they ran out of stuff after 2 nights of European students.
We paid £ 8.50 per day's parking and a bit disappointed that they charged an extra £1 per day just for giving a permit. Brighton is very expensive, but it's unlikely that we'll stay here again. Can't believe that they get anyone to stay at their 'rack' rate.

Room Tip: Extra charge for 'sea' view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disgruntled44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having read reviews only a few days before our visit I was apprehensive to say the least but my concerns were short lived.
Yes the room was small and furnishings somewhat dated but it was clean and had all the amenities expected.
The staff were welcoming, breakfasts very satisfying and parking at £8.50 for 24 hours was very close by.
The hotel's location is fantastic and as a base for a weekend exploring Brighton it suited our purpose.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tattoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador B&B

Address: 22-23 New Steine | Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PD, England (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $101 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house property with 24 ensuite rooms in garden square overlooking the sea. Few minutes walk from beach, city centre restaurants and attractions. 24 hour reception and check in. Small residents bar and lounge. Green Tourism business serving local farm produce breakfast, beers and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambassador B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing