We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Myself and my beautiful girlfriend stayed a couple of days in Brighton. We booked one night at the Sea Spray hotel in the Geisha Room. The room was smaller than I had expected from the photo on the website but very nice all the same. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and we both enjoyed our stay. There were hot drink facilities & did make tea in the morning. Choosing to lie in we missed breakfast so cannot comment on that. I would consider booking at the Sea Spray again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    240
    85
    43
    29
See reviews for
93
528
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My partner and I made a last minute mid-week trip to Sea Spray in March. We stayed in the Little Venice suite for the first night and swapped to Eden suite for the second night. We paid a slightly reduced rate for both rooms, as we only booked the day we arrived.

Little Venice was large and clean; with a balcony that had a nice view down to the sea, the pier and the Brighton Wheel. There were also two metal chairs on the balcony if you fancied sitting outside.

King size bed was very comfortable; clean, crisp linens and plenty of pillows. Bathroom was well laid out and the shower was very good. Got hot quickly, was powerful and was a big walk-in enclosure rather than over bath - something I always like in a hotel bathroom.

Overall I thought the room was right for the price we paid and I'd very happily stay again.

Eden room has a lounge with sofa and flatscreen TV, separate breakfast area (as you get breakfast delivered to your room included in price for this suite), bedroom with large mirrored-front wardrobe and a little flatscreen tv and en-suite bathroom.

There's also the garden with hot tub, which is obviously the main feature of this suite. Hot tub was absolutely heavenly, especially as we went in it on a cold evening accompanied by a couple of glasses of champagne (which we bought ourselves from Sainsburys just down the road) :)

Only downside to the stay was that the bed and bathroom in Eden really didn't hit the mark for the cost of the room.

The bed seemed to be a small double and was very uncomfortable. My boyfriend and I had a much interrupted night's sleep.

The bathroom was unfortunately also quite poor. It was cold and old fashioned, the hot water was heated on demand by a noisy boiler and there was a half size bath with shower over and a nasty plastic shower curtain which didn’t go the entire way around the bath.

The shower head was too high up the wall for this arrangement and the spray coming out of it was very fine and pointed more around the bathroom and through the inevitable gaps in the shower curtain than down onto the person trying to have the shower.

This resulted in a seriously flooded bathroom and not very clean guests. We both still felt grubby after our showers, which is not ideal when you've spent the previous evening in the hot tub with its required chemicals. The hot water also ran out before I finished my shower, and my partner had to wait a while for more hot water before he could shower.

It's a real shame, because if you put together the quality of the bed and bathroom in Little Venice and Eden's facilities you'd have a stunning room that was well worth the asking rate.

Breakfast both days was excellent. Tasty, good-quality produce and all nicely cooked. Eggs Benedict and Full English both very well executed. We were cheeky when we stayed in Eden and asked for extra items to accompany our eggs Benedict, which we were given. This was very much appreciated.

Service was great for the whole trip. Polite, quick and efficient. Staff also happily provided champagne flutes, ice bucket and ice and extra plates and cutlery while we were in the Eden suite. Although it’s worth noting that reception is only staffed until 9pm.

Parking permits were explained clearly to us and we found it no trouble to park nearby the hotel, although might be a different story on weekends or in high season.

The Sea Spray is in a great location for the beach/pier area and also only a 10 minute or so walk into the centre of town.

Overall it was a good stay, and I would recommend the Little Venice suite. But I would only stay in Eden again if the bathroom was remodelled and there was a bigger, better bed.

I think I tend to agree with people who’ve pointed out it’s more of a new style B&B than it is a hotel. So if you’re looking for somewhere with a 24hr reception, room service etc this is probably not the place for you.

But I don’t want to be too critical as the service throughout the stay was good, and you get a sense that the management really care and want their guests to have an enjoyable time.

I certainly had a nice time, it's just a pity the last memory to take away is feeling a bit grubby because the bathroom wasn't up to scratch.

Room Tip: Little Venice has nice balcony with views of the sea and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fantastic stay at Sea Spray. Me and the misses spent a night in the renaissance room which we found to be lovely. The bed is beautiful and the view from the balcony looks straight to sea and brighton pier. Shame the weather wasn't on our side to enjoy it too its full potential. The shower was lovely, on the small side (not fit for two ;) ) but very nice regardless. Own key to side entrance for flexible curfew and a simple but very enjoyable breakfast the next day. Staff seemed very friendly and happy to help and advise when ever you needed it.

We will be going back to this hotel in the vey near future and possibly trying either the morrocon style room or the garden of eden.

Many thanks Sea Spray team, See you Soon!

Oliver Cox

Room Tip: Only spent one night here but the renaissance rooms bed is worth the stay alone!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The service was really good and helpful and the location was excellent but, as much as I would like to write a positive review, the fact is that, disappointingly, this is not really a hotel, it's a B&B that needs a little TLC. The award-winning breakfast was also not really what it was hyped to be; it was nice, but not remarkable.
I have two problems with this a) the price is really expensive for a B&B and b) our plans were a little spoiled as the B&B was not really the high-end hotel that we were expecting... :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facemunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited this hotel whilst on a business trip and was very pleased with its situation and style. I was lucky enough to obtain a room at a short notice and was given the New York penthouse which as its name implies it situated on the top floor so has lots of stairs with no lift. The room itself has a large sitting area and benefits from a king size bed.
The bathroom was rather compact compared with the rest of the room and had a over bath shower with jet bath.
A good nights sleep and little noise was most welcome.
Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent.Why cant all otels do this rather than the usual cold under heater offerings?
The hotel is situated in a tiny square just off the sea front. I was able to obtain parking very close although beware it is only free from 8pm till 9am
I will certainly return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, bedroom was small, bit tired and the windows needed a lick of paint! Bed was comfy and breakfast was lovely. Would have liked some pastries and cereals.
Had a treatment and it was dreadful. Massage table towel was damp and wet (cold body) and room was cramped. As a trained masseuse I found the therapist didn't know what he was doing, and was not enjoyable. But that doesn't reflect on the hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Extremely friendly and welcoming. Good room, good breakfast. Excellent location for seafront and the lanes. Took the trouble to ring us to let us know we'd left some things (of value) in the room after we'd checked out. Will definitely book again if and when I'm back in Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Property: Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Spray Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing