We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bicester
2 reviews
“Brighton gathering”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Brilliant location, we travelled by train! Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and breakfast excellent (if you book on line, include b/fast, as it's cheaper).

Would recommend and stay definitely stay again.

10/10


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic S, General Manager at Ibis Brighton City Centre Station, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a short but sweet review on Tripadvisor and rating us with 5 stars. I was happy to read that you took advantage of our online promotions and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon. Kindest regards, Dominic Sauls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    597
    176
    59
    41
See reviews for
278
528
109
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was about to give a poor review of this hotel but have had a change of heart. When I booked the room I opted for the extra comfort package which included free wifi, water and slippers. Unfortunately this was forgotten on check in and we didn't receive the items. Funnily enough though the wifi was free anyway.

The reason for the change of heart is that it is a very good value hotel and is definitely the sensible option for Brighton. Despite being central it was quiet and as the hotel in new it is in great shape. The service on arrival was a little cold but other than that the room was exactly what we needed.

There are better hotels in Brighton but you do get what you pay for (most of the time).

Phil.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePhil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic S, General Manager at Ibis Brighton City Centre Station, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback to us via Tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on delivering a consistently good service and I am sorry that we failed to deliver this on your last stay. I was also disappointed to read that we did not honour the additional benefits of the extra comfort package. If you would please be so kind to contact me on h6444-gm@accor.com, would be greatly appreciated as we do value your custom and feedback. I look forward to the possibilty of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Dominic Sauls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights & were very impressed. Modern, clean, sparkling, very comfortable room, great en-suite & smiley helpful staff. All this at a very modest price!
10 minutes walk to city centre, 2 minutes to rail station & the fantastic Brighton & Hove bus services which will take you anywhere in the city & beyond. (for around £3.30 you can buy a 24 hour ticket allowing unlimited travel on most bus routes). Fantastic opportunity for the "bus pass brigade".
The £7.95 buffet breakfast is great value, freshly prepared hot & cold food, something for everyone.
The small dining area can become very busy at peak times & I would advise not to pay for breakfast in advance. Pay on the day or when you check out. This way you can opt to "eat in" or, if very busy, breakfast at one of the many other places within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic S, General Manager at Ibis Brighton City Centre Station, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments online and rating us with 5 stars. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, made all the more special by the smiley helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon. Kindest regards, Dominic Sauls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights over a weekend and it cost £176.00 which in comparison to the other hotels in Brighton was one of the cheapest. The hotel was very clean and modern, I think its probably quite recently been built. The hotel has good security in place - i.e. card needed to access internal doors and lifts. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar was averagely priced. The rooms were good - not very big but clean/modern and equipped with the items you'd want for a weekend break. I don't think the hotel advertises it but they offer 50% discount on the local NCP car park which is a few minutes walk away - for us this was a bonus as parking would have turned out to be very expensive otherwise. The hotel is in a good location for access to the station and shops, and is about a 10 minute walk to the seafront. Overall I would recommend the hotel however there was one negative - our room was level 2 which you would assume would be on the second floor however it is in fact one floor below the reception/street level. The view from the window was an internal wall and you could only see daylight if you squashed your face up against the window and looked right up. This made the room quite dark. I'm not sure what the view would be like from floor 1 (below) but I think best to avoid these floor levels. Other than that the hotel would be fully recommended!

Room Tip: Avoid floor 2 (below reception/street level), no view and rooms very dark as there is no daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic S, General Manager at Ibis Brighton City Centre Station, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments online. We are currenty reviewing how we advertise the agreement with the local car park to better communicate to all of our guests and appreciate all of your feedback. I have also noted your comment regarding the natural daylight on the 2nd floor. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back soon. Kindest regards, Dominic Sauls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here exactly one month ago, but writing an average review is much harder than a glowing review as it needs to be factual and not a rant. My first issue is that the hotel was not value for money, we paid £99.00 for 1 night, room only, and two other reviewers, on the exact same date, paid £60 which would have been about right and £35 which would have been a bargain for Brighton. On arrival we called to ask where to park and I got a lecture on checking in while we waited on a double yellow line for instructions, then my phone cut off and I got a lecture on hanging up on people when I called back, so, not a great start, but once this was smoothed over we left the car in the no parking zone outside (apparently fine) and went in to reception to find out we should park just round the corner, which was convenient and you get a discount on the NCP prices.
Our room was very clean, the layout is good for a small space and the bed was reasonably comfortable. But, the noise from the street on a Saturday night was horrendous and went on until dawn when we decided to give up trying to sleep and go. This is no fault of the IBIS it is just the location, which is great as a short walk into town, but near the takeaways and the train station etc you are going to get traffic, shouting and vomitting on a Saturday night, and I can normally sleep through anything. However, reading other reviews, their rooms were quiet, so maybe it was just ours on the ground floor.
Half the staff we encountered were great at their job and really kind, the other half really let the side down and the room was not good value for money. I did write all this when IBIS sent their survey form and the manager acknowledged this by email and offered a free night at the hotel so we could see how much better they normally do, which was very kind of him but we won't be taking him up on his offer.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic S, General Manager at Ibis Brighton City Centre Station, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences with us, howerver I was very disappointed to read your comments in particular, regarding your request for assistance with finding parking. I would have anticipated a much more proactive and understanding approach from my team and will be sharing your feedback with them to ensure a more positive outcome in future. As for our pricing, you are always welcome to check out our prepaid advanced rates which do offer significant savings especially when booked way in advance. I am disappointed that you will not be taking up my offer and once again would like to thank you for your time and comments. Kindest regards, Dominic Sauls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a newly built hotel, well located next to the railway station. Buses to the promenade and sea front stop opposite the hotel. The room was very clean, with a comfortable bed and nice shower room and toilet. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Our only complaint was the very disappointing breakfast. The eating area is small for so many guests, and the quality and choice of cooked food was poor. One member of our party had a continental which they thought was reasonable.
If the breakfast had been inclusive of the room rate we would still have been unhappy, but having to pay extra for such poor food was unsatisfactory.
Fortunately we found that there were many other choices nearby for breakfast on subsequent days.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a view over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_and_carole73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic S, General Manager at Ibis Brighton City Centre Station, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online. Although I was grateful to receive the 4 star rating, I was disappointed to read your comments regarding our all you can eat breakfast offer. If you would please be so kind as to email me on h6444-gm@accor.com and expand on your comments, so that we could look at ways and means of improving our guest experience, would be greatly appreciated. Kindest regards, Dominic Sauls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brighton City Centre Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brighton City Centre Station

Property: Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Address: 88-92 Queens Road, Brighton BN1 3XE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brighton City Centre Station 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Brighton City Centre Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing