We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Cafe Coho - Queens Road
Ranked #22 of 78 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just a few meters outside Brighton train station next to the newly opened Ibis Hotel & opposite The Queens Head Pub. Cafe Coho Queens Road occupies the former Army, Navy & RAF recruitment office. You will find tables made from reclaimed floor joists supprted by scaffolding poles and suspended counter lights reclaimed from a city bank. Queens Road offers free WIFI and has 40 seats arranged over two rooms
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful little coffee shop that would love to visit again. The chap behind the counter was really great, his flat white coffee was just perfect - no worries take a seat & they bring it over! Just had a slice of the genuine homemade flap jack, just brilliant - really wished had not had a sandwich in another coffee shop earlier and had eaten here instead! Five stars and really well done

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarbieDollMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Queens Road, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Many thanks for visiting Coho recently and for your review. It is very much appreciated.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Super coffee, one of my favourite places to go pre work or on lunch. Decor is modern and refreshing and the team make you feel welcome if your with friends or alone with a newspaper.

Helpful?
Thank Heaps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Queens Road, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Many thanks for visiting Coho recently and for your review. It is very much appreciated.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great second time around...”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Went here recently when I went to Brighton for a weekend. Had coffee and cake one evening, which was nice, but the cake rather tasted like it had been sat there all day. It was only once we started eating the cake, that we saw the guy behind the counter bin the rest. We then realised new had gone in right on closing time.

We went back the day after for breakfast as it was close to our hotel and it was much better. We were first in this time. Breakfast menu is excellent with many different options available. The produce tasted fresh and lively and was thoroughly enjoyable. The coffee was also good.

Based on the second experience I would highly recommend it and definitely go back, just not right on closing time :o)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dev2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality coffee in a friendly environment”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Great coffee. Food looks good -shame it's not covered so open to all customers coughing over it! We'd definitely return but not to eat!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ge0babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Queens Road, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting Café Coho and for taking the time to leave us a review on TA. Its very much appreciated.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant for breakfast”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stopped in this café because we liked the look of it from the outside. We were not disappointed once we went it. The atmosphere was wonderful and the service excellent. We both ordered breakfast and both meals were fantastic. The food was so good that we returned the next day to have breakfast again, both of us ordering completely different meals from the day before.

Again we were amazed at how fresh and delicious everything was. The coffee was wonderful and we noted that there was a superb range of teas on offer too. There are two Café Coho's in Brighton. We ate at the one nearest to Brighton Railway Station. The other café is located in the Lanes area, but we ate at the same one in Queen's Road on both days. What a great café. It's been voted the most loved café in Bright and no wonder! It's definitely worth a meal stop when you are in Brighton.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ditas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Owner at Cafe Coho - Queens Road, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Coho on trip advisor and for your compliments regarding your breakfast. We really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Coho - Queens Road also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Coho - Queens Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing