We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veggie pub”
Review of The Prince George

The Prince George
Ranked #214 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great veggie pub”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Really enjoyed our veggie meal here. As a meat eater I really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere is good. Will be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    46
    21
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be....”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Used to love this pub - the food, choice of drinks, service & atmosphere..however...

Popped in a fortnight ago for a Sunday Roast, only to be told be the blonde woman behind the bar that they 'do seasonal food;not roasts'! Her attitude is beyond words, seems to think she is above all the minions in the pub. Anyway, the pub was empty (I wonder why, we drank our drinks quickly & I nipped to the loo before leaving - I wish I hadn't. Disgusting. I used to enjoy taking people to this pub. What a shame. When we left we went to the Basketmakers Arms & had an AMAZING veggie roast. The Basketmakers was really busy & bustling with gorgeous food & lovely staff (& a lovely clean toilet too!) - total contrast!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent food but cleanliness disappointing”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had eaten here on a visit a few years ago and were looking forward to eating there again on a return visit to Brighton. The food was decent enough but we were put off by the fact that the chef's clothing was filthy (and we ate about midday on a Monday so the kitchen wasn't exactly busy), by the hair stuck to the vinegar bottle and the dirt around the condiments. When we used the toilets, there was no cold water and a tiny dribble of hot water, so I hate to think what the hygiene in the kitchen was like. We won't be eating there on our next visit to the town. Luckily there are lots of other vegetarian restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UkMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect finger food in the sunshine”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We dropped into the George because it ticked all our boxes:
a) good food
b) good ales
c) veggie option
d) dog friendly

We had a delicious lunch: platters to share in their small sunny rear courtyard. So nice we took a photo. The food was just as good as our old favourite, the Hop Poles

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CongoGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“brilliant Veggie/vegan food!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A pub serving vegan food.. doesnt get much better than this! One veggie, one vegan and one meat eater in our party and we all raved about the home cooked food. Just what we needed after an excess of partying all weekend. I had the falafel burger with the biggest chips ive ever seen.. it was yummy! Food was reasonably priced and home cooked.. my only disappointment was they had run out of vegan ice cream- I never get to eat puddings when we eat out!

The pub itself had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were really friendly.

When we next visit Brighton this will be on our list for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moztattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince George also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Prince George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing