We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but small”

Brighton Toy and Model Museum
Ranked #29 of 167 things to do in Brighton
Attraction details
Bialystok, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad, but small”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Small museum, although interresting. 4,5 pounds is a bit expensive. However it has a nice atmosphere. There should be some more information on the exhibits. 2 stars for the way it's presented + 1 for the idea

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piotrek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonToyMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for the review!
Thanks for saying we have a nice atmosphere, all our front of house staff give up their time for free to keep the museum running so it's great to know that we're making our visitors happy.
We would put more information out about our exhibit but given the limited space we have we couldn't fit much more in without having to remove some of the toys. However, our volunteers all know a little about the toys we have on display and if they can't help you, then we have Tig & Chris on hand every day who both have an encyclopedic knowledge of all the toys and models we display.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    18
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth paying”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This place has very old toys and train sets, probably ok if its your era, but was mostly 1950s or before, so had no relavance to us, took about 10 mins to walk around

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightonToyMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Vicki
Thanks for coming and for taking the time to give us a review. And sorry you didn't enjoy it as much as we hope all our visitors do.
Of course being a museum we do tend to have a lot of old stuff rather than new, and we're not as hands on as we would really like but children chew things, things get broken or go missing so we can't really put any of our toys out to play with.
We do have activity packs which give you lots of fun ideas of how to get more out of the museum, you just have to ask one of our volunteers. However, if you do go around the museum in ten minutes you'll miss a great deal of the toys we have on display. In fact, we have members of staff who are still finding things they didn't notice we had months after starting work here!
I hope you get the chance to come again and when you do, talk to one of us and we'll do our best to make sure your visit is much more fun than last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“poor value for money & boring.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We took our 7 year old grandson there yesterday 29 may 2013. Expensive for what you get. Nothing for young children his age. Only 1 train display was running. Staff were disinterested.
Old gaming machine took your money, but did not work.We walked through the place in 10 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 234Joost234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddy B, Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are sorry you had such a negative experience at our lovely museum. We have recruited all new volunteers (as a small registered charity, we cannot afford staff) and trained them all to a better standard of customer service. We have also installed interactives for the children, activity and colouring sheets are available, as is a beautiful story sack full of ideas on how to best enjoy the toy museum.
The venue is not huge but there are over 15,000 exhibits on display and many people, especially those with children, return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A journey back in time”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want to go back to your childhood this is the place to go, a brilliant selection of cars, boats, planes, trains, toys, games, dolls, puppets and bears. Working model railways with the Brighton Belle in operation. Displayed really well and ideal for collectors wanting to purchase a few second hand trains and cars. There is an admission fee but if you visit the Brighton website you can print off a voucher for "buy one get one free"...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thescampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,209 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“toys”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

the brighton toy and model museum is like going back to your childhood,so many toys that bring back memories they have working model trains that cover so much space little stations bridges country side farms and towns, model meccano ,cars planes and lots of other toys its great for kids and a lot older kids like me well worth a visit,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Toy and Model Museum also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Toy and Model Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing