We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish the way it should be”

GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #89 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $190
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: One of Brighton's new and glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 is located within the iconic Grand Brighton. A conveniently short walk from Brighton Station and the city's famous shopping lanes and exceptionally located along Brighton's vibrant seafront. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. A fantastic a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set menus are available. Although fish and seafood dishes dominate the menu, seasonal meat and vegetarian dishes feature. The stunning central champagne and oyster bar seating 20, offers a more relaxed dining area in which to share a seafood platter and watch the expertly trained chefs prepare oysters and other fruit de mer. There are also private dining options within the sea facing terrace or GB2, ideal for canape receptions or private celebrations. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of Taittinger Champagne, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish the way it should be”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stumbled across this restaurant one night after I popped into the Grand for an evening drink one night. I would not have expected there to be such a cool place in a hotel which I imagined would be more traditional. The GB1 Restaurant is light and airy, beautifully decorated and has a circular seafood bar and drinks bar which you can seat yourself at in some of the comfiest bar stools I have every sat in. Given the quality of the food and the service - this place is also not unreasonable on the wallet either. Having fish cooked to such perfection is a rarity - and this place nails it every time. Nothing overly complicated - just great food, cooked well. Treat your 'other half' to a meal at GB1 and perch yourself at the bar to soak up the atmosphere. All in all, my favourite restaurant in Brighton and Hove by a long shot.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    128
    41
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely view but terrible food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We sat overlooking the promenade having had a drink in the adjoining bar hoping for a lovely meal at the end of a lovely day in Brighton. We should have realised at the outset when after a 15 minute wait we were served white bread and popcorn, yes popcorn. We did not get the lovely brown bread that we were recommended as they did not have any. This was 6.30 pm and we were the second couple to arrive there, so they could not have run out. After another 15 minute wait we were served whitebait which were served in a small metal basket and were ok, just ok. This was followed 45 minutes later by a sea bass for my husband, which considering how fresh it was, should have been amazing, but was just barely ok. I had a fillet steak served on a slate which was served medium/well when I asked for medium/rare. My green peppercorn sauce did turn up, neither did the chunky chips. When the sauce did turn up it was revolting - it tasted like Bisto, with a bit of tomato puree and 3 peppercorns!. The green salad was manky and brown with silly slithers of cucumber in the top. That was all taken back to the kitchen and was replaced with a barely edible medium/rare fillet, for which I was not charged., I have not eaten in a seaside hotel for a long time and would have expected much better from the Grand Hotel. The service was well below parr too. We did not bother with anything else. We just wanted to get back to London for proper fare.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Sea food”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We ate here as part of our package and the meal was very good, the staff were very helpful. Our only slight niggle is that we had a food allowance as part of our package and some of the value was lost as we could not set our after dinner coffees against the bill

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We returned to the Grand Hotel in Brighton recently only to discover that it has been taken over (oh dear) and the wonderful, longstanding and traditional 'Kings Restaurant' has been replaced by (the ridiculously named) GB1. One of the main pleasures of staying at the Grand is a glass of champagne in the bar followed by an elegant dinner and no need to venture outside into the grunge of Brighton. However, all this has now been lost as Kings has been replaced by what I can only describe as an upmarket fish and chip shop. All the grandeur of Kings has been completely lost in this small, very unremarkable restaurant that serves its meals on breadboards with chips in wire baskets and all off of a plastic topped table. The food was nice I will admit and the service reasonably good but the overall experience was very low rent (and needless to say, not cheap) and certainly not worthy of the Grand of old. Trying to be trendy does not suit. I definitely would never eat there again and this lack of elegant dining will probably put me off staying at the Grand altogether in the future as I think it may many others.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susannahxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Three of us went to GB1 for lunch on Friday 8 th.
The service was extremely poor.we had to wait for 20minutes before a waiter came.we ordered drinks and water.drinks arrived after 15 min.had to remind the waiter for water.had to ask waiters for food order.we ordered oysters and fish soup together with fish ,as 3rd course. After a while Oysters and Soup appeared at the same time.Again had to ask waiter for small forks for Oysters.At one point the waiter was so rude and said that he is not meant to be here,Very disappointed with service .One expects better service and for the price charged.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ravi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton and Hove, East Sussex
 

Been to GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing