We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Food, great atmosphere and service”

GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #85 of 1,112 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $192
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of Brighton's new and glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 is located within the iconic Grand Brighton. A conveniently short walk from Brighton Station and the city's famous shopping lanes and exceptionally located along Brighton's vibrant seafront. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. A fantastic a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set menus are available. Although fish and seafood dishes dominate the menu, seasonal meat and vegetarian dishes feature. The stunning central champagne and oyster bar seating 20, offers a more relaxed dining area in which to share a seafood platter and watch the expertly trained chefs prepare oysters and other fruit de mer. There are also private dining options within the sea facing terrace or GB2, ideal for canape receptions or private celebrations. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of Taittinger Champagne, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all.
Chichester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant Food, great atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fantastic service from all the staff, mouth watering new menu.Food absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    125
    41
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth carp-ing on about”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sorry for the pun.. well not that sorry. This place is fantastic! I was treated to a dinner of oysters, champagne and catch of the day and I thoroughly enjoyed the lot. The service was first rate, the oysters were probably the best I've had and the catch of the day was delicately cooked and extremely fresh. I was extremely impressed with the whole dining experience. Thank you all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiscansBiscuitTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

If you like fish, this is the place to go, there are a few meat dishes on the menu but the big draw is the seafood bar. Had 4 starters to share between the two of us and a bit of treat with a Bloody Mary oyster, followed by the brill. I haven't had this before and it was BRILL! Price is always relative but really did feel it was good value for money and the staff were helpful and informative without being pushey. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baronbigballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely fish but a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

As we were staying at The Grand we decided to try out GB1 on our last evening. As my mum has a serve seafood allergy but likes fish, we had spoke to the hotel concierge in advance about how the food was cooked and the restaurant were extremely accommodating about ensuring her meal was cooked seperately from any seafood.

The staff in the restaurant were very welcoming and offered good recommendations and advice about the fish selection, their favourite dishes etc.

Our only real disappoint with the meal came in terms of our seating. As we visited on a Thursday the restaurant was not full by any means, when we first arrived we were disappointed to be sat away from the seaview area, even though there were spaces. Similarly as the night progressed we had to groups sat directly next to us, even though there were still spaces all over the restaurant. This became a slight issue as the tables were so close and as one of the tables were a little stroppy with each other.

Overall a good restaurant experience in a nice setting but a little pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a very satisfied evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

a very professional staff,beautiful décor and excellent seafood.The seafood platter was a huge platter and very fresh indeed.Easily the best restaurant in Brighton!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamilla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton and Hove, East Sussex
 

Been to GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing