We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Betty La Las - CLOSED

Betty La Las
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A quirky little restaurant in the heart of Kemptown, Brighton.Great food, relaxed atmosphere, fun and funky surroundings.Good value for money, and excellent customer service x Brighton's latest mexican food and tequila bar . We are happy to accommodate large group bookings, and can cater for private events.
London
Level Contributor
195 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed a very nice meal here at the weekend, the food was excellent, well presented and very tasty, my venison was a touch overcooked for my liking and it may have been nice to have been asked how I preferred it done but all said it was still good and the veg puree and sauce that accompanied it was to die for.

My wife had a burger which she very much enjoyed and the sticky toffee pudding for dessert was delicious.

As previous reviews have noted neither the menu or the wine list is extensive but there should be something for everyone.

The service was simply magnificent, very attentive and superbly friendly, the only downside was the fact that for most of the evening this fantastically decorated restaurant was virtually empty and lacked that buzz a Saturday night should have about it.

Will return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    23
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb evening”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Superb evening great food great place and not forgetting a great host in Sandy (owner) made my wife feel so special on her pre birthday meal would highly recommend and will definitely be back thanks again for a great evening N & K

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njones1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All the good stuff is true...”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a great night. I found this restaurant on Tripadvisor knowing that great restaurants existed in Kemp Town despite living just up the road in Hove. The menu was pleasantly simple but with hints of excellence. It was every bit as good as hinted.

The owners are very hands on which makes it incredibly friendly. The chef it turns out is Michelin star trained and that shows in the quality of the food. The decor is Kemp Town chic. The service is exemplary. I can't think of a venue to eat great food in a welcoming atmosphere that would be better.

My hat is off to Sandy and Johan who run it with love and enthusiasm. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LargePinotPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyMcgarrigle, Owner at Betty La Las, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
With so much choice in Hove, was great you tried out Kemptown.. thanks. We have so many customers now finding us on Tripadvisor, and so it is much appreciated you adding to our reviews.
It was great chatting with you, and am so happy you enjoyed it.. we enjoyed having you.
many thanks Xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I've been wanting to try this place for a while and wasn't disappointed. We visited Good Friday evening and have had a wonderful time. Fab service,everybody so friendly and happy to have a chat and a laugh, lovely food (I recommend the lamb chops and sticky toffee pudding!) and really good value. I will definitely come back again especially as it is so local.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyMcgarrigle, Owner at Betty La Las, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your evening X Because we have such great customers, the atmosphere is always great, friendly and relaxed.
See you for some more lovely evenings.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great restaurant in kemptown”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

my 1st vist to betty la las.i dined with a friend from Brighton whos eating there before,
we were greated by the owner whom was very plesant and jolly.......we ordered dinner which was
excellent great value for money and worth a vist ,i will be eating there again on my next vist

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyMcgarrigle, Owner at Betty La Las, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated, and means a lot to us, in particular coming from a head chef.
It was great talking to you, and thanks for some great ideas and suggestions.
Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty La Las also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing