We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several meals at Betty LaLas”
Review of Betty La Las - CLOSED

Betty La Las
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A quirky little restaurant in the heart of Kemptown, Brighton.Great food, relaxed atmosphere, fun and funky surroundings.Good value for money, and excellent customer service x Brighton's latest mexican food and tequila bar . We are happy to accommodate large group bookings, and can cater for private events.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Several meals at Betty LaLas”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My partner and I have eaten here about 4 times. Each time the service has been excellent, friendly and homely. Now to the best part - the food.
I have eaten at restaurants all over the world, from many cultures.
Betty LaLas new French chef delivers food of amazing quality each time.
We have eaten, duck, lamb, venison, sea bass and chicken in our visits.
We also tried the sunday roasts of lamb, beef, pork and vegetarian.
All were excellent portions and delicious. His sauces are amazing.
This is undoubtedly one of the hidden gems of Brighton, to be missed at your peril.
The overall service and friendliness is second to none.
We are booked for Christmas eve and another night.
Soon this place will become hard to find a table at.
Many thanks to owner sandy for delivering this gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyMcgarrigle, Owner at Betty La Las, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thankyou so much. I know you have very discerning tastes !!! We love when you visit Xxx And we love that you bring all your friends and family.. Your support is appreciated, and your friendship and advice is most welcome x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    23
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. Great venue.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Long-time reader, first-time post-er.

In the months leading up to my girlfriend turning 30, she and I began looking for suitable locations for a group lunch. After deciding on Brighton, we set about researching online for venues that would cater for a group of 12+ without prescibing each diner has the same three courses, paying c.£50 for the privilege of making their kitchen staff's job easier! We were looking for somewhere offering a menu to cater for a range of tastes and, perhaps, that possessed an added 'qerky' factor that seems to set Brighton apart.

After short-listing 5 restaurants from online research, we paid a visit to Brighton in November to choose a venue. Betty La Las was our third stop and after speaking with Gary, our search was over as the girlfriend immediately knew this was the place she wanted to celebrate her birthday. They offered a great set menu, allowing guests to choose from four dishes in each course. There was flexibility in the menu options too: Gary was more than happy to change one of the Main options as I knew many of the guests don't eat lamb. And the decour had the 'qerky' factor my girlfriend was after!

On the day, Gary and Martin provided us with a warm welcome and took our coats. They had set the table really nicely too. We were made completely at ease and never felt rushed between courses. We arrived at 2 and left at 6. The food was memorable and thoroughly enjoyable. There were no complaints at all from the group of 13. It was great food: all dishes well-balanced (minor point: some would have liked more bread with their pâté), were consistently well-presented and the portions were generous. No one went hungry and everyone was satisfied with the meal and the price.

The service was attentive throughout. They couldn't have done any more for us.

The only feedback I received from some of the (female) guests was that the lavish-looking lavatories just needed to provide some hand cream to finish-off the Betty La Las experience!

I have used TripAdvisor for years when researching overseas trips, hotel stays and restaurants, but this has been my first TripAdvisor review. I felt it was necessary to show my appreciation for the enjoyment that was had by all.

Based on this experience, I would thoroughly recommend this venue for groups. Thanks Gary and Martin! T&J

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloTAWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyMcgarrigle, Owner at Betty La Las, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
What a really lovely review, thank you so much. Sorry I never got to meet you, but I do concur with your comments about my team..Gary and Martin are great. And as for the hand cream.. consider it done !!! Thanks Sandy Xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jastenerife
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Best Sunday dinner in Brightonn”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

So many places offer Sunday dinner but gotta say this has to be the best not only did we get a delicious roast, all the trimmings & no corners cut but the staff made us feel really welcome. Looking forward to going back

Helpful?
2 Thank jastenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in heart of Kemptown”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Saturday evening with 8 friends for dinner. Service was speedy and our meals were all served together. Although the menu is small, there is something for everyone. I had the chicken liver pate, which was a very generous portion, although more toast was needed, followed by the Venison. Again another very generous portion. My friends had various starters and mains, including sea bass, chicken and beef kebabs, pasta. All of which were thoroughly enjoyed. Prices very reasonable and you didn't feel herded in like cattle. A thoroughly delightful evening out with friends

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brightscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We eventually made our way to this lovely little place on Sunday for the " best sunday lunch in town " ... Wow! Were they all right , the whole meal was delicious . All home made food , tastefully delivered to us by warm friendly staff .
I would highly recommend going to this place , its a hidden gem here in Brighton that needs to discovered by more .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David7783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty La Las also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing