We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never return again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We have just re-opened our doors to the public under new owner-ship. We have a new menu and currently offering Spanish tapas with a Latin twist! We don't want to just offer traditional Spanish tapas... So we have added Latin American tapas like no other place in Sussex! So come and give us a try and I can assure you will not be disappointed. You will find a very friendly staff as it is a family business and we are here ourselves!
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would never return again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visited this restaurant recently and we should have decided not to go in as the place was empty but we decided it was Tapas we wanted so we entered and got a table. On ordering our food and wine, the red wine was bought out and served, it must have just been removed from a fridge as it was freezing cold, not the way to serve red wine unless you are actually in Spain in the mid summer hot months! The food starts to arrive which all was obviously blasted in a microwave as it was far to hot and actually burnt our mouths. Some of the food hadn't been seasoned and very bland. We had enough and ordered the bill on paying were told that the card machine was out of order but there was a cash point 5 minute walk away be nice if this was mentioned on our arrival. Between us we managed to actually pay the bill in cash but we were extremely disappointed in the venue, service and will never return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio S, Owner at Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi CMLM, I am really sorry to read about your experience you had the last time you visit my restaurant. At the time it was owned by someone else so I cannot comment on the experience you had... However I can assure you that the next time you visit Brighton if you are willing to visit my restaurant again you will not be disappointed. We have very experienced staff working here and I am sure the experience you had in the past will not repeat itself. The owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Somewhat dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our first and we were not impressed. We ordered Sangria and water, the water never arrived. The mixed salad was a plate of lettuce with sliced tomato and a sprinkling of red onion - hardly a Spanish ensalada! The four tapa dishes came one after the other. One tapas was nearly whipped away from our table and re-positioned when the waitress realised it was ours. Following this, another unrecognisable tapas arrived ( not ordered by us) and was quickly retrieved and placed on another table. The quantity of the food was small and not overly tasty. There were two waitresses and neither of them seemed to have a good command of the English language. The staff need to be more attentive to customer's satisfaction, not just standing behind the bar talking to each other. Not once did anyone enquire if we were enjoying our meal. We'd had enough by time the flamenco act started so twice had to ask for the bill (First time our request was not understood, the waitress gave us a restaurant card). If you go for the two for one tapas nights, make sure you have your booking e-mail with you because, like us, we were charged full price until we queried it, although we had tried to draw this to the attention of the waitress previously.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I visited Brighton for a couple of nights this week, and ate here on the first night. We didn't know what to expect, but had a lovely dinner, starting with the good fortune of a promotion that night that entitled us to a free jug of sangria. In all we shared a large paella and had four other dishes, and each was delicious. We also received a bonus vegetarian dish, before we had even ordered.

At the end of our meal we were too stuffed to try the desserts, which is always a good sign, and the chef sent out a complimentary non-alcoholic juice drink (not sure what it's called) that was also delicious. It tasted similar to the Caribbean drink sorrel, and was a lovely way to end the evening.

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience there, and would return the next time we are in Brighton.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value monday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I popped in here on Monday with a budget of £30 and hunger in our eyes. We are working our way through all the venues on Preston St as we live just around the corner and this place was next on the list. There was no advertising saying this on the street but once we sat we were told that every table gets a free jug of SANGRIA, tasty and a nice surprise!

The venue itself had lots of rustic wood here and there and a warm Mediterranean feel. The waitress was warm and helpful and at the end of our meal she presented us with a few great value vouchers that let us know they are in search of new business. That's why I think right now this place is offering great value. For our £30 we got 5 portions of tapas that were all very healthy portions. The meat was always going to be great but a nice surprise was this creamy spinach dish that was simple, balanced and a nice compliment to all the spicy meat we'd been drawn too. Also of value was a fish platter that was around £8. One thing they could have done which they didn't was to put the bread we ordered in an oven for a moment so it was warm.

The free sangria jug is available on a monday and wednesday and a great tempter to purchase a full size jug at £15. if we weren't on such a budget we would have definitely been in.

We'll definitely be heading back there for a cheap early week soire when we are feeling to lazy to cook!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 158jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worst meal out for some time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I can agree with the recent reviews of this restaurant. We have eaten here twice and the first time was okay but the most recent visit was terrible. The quality and presentation of the food was totally unacceptable. One dish - grilled calamari - was inedible. The slices of meat were too thickly cut and tough (possibly too old).

The owners of this place don't seem to care.

Helpful?
Thank Rockandbaconrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing