We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We have just re-opened our doors to the public under new owner-ship. We have a new menu and currently offering Spanish tapas with a Latin twist! We don't want to just offer traditional Spanish tapas... So we have added Latin American tapas like no other place in Sussex! So come and give us a try and I can assure you will not be disappointed. You will find a very friendly staff as it is a family business and we are here ourselves!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently good tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Eaten here a couple of times with friends, very good tapas (prob best ive eaten in Brighton) the baked cod and pepper is fantastic, wine list is pretty good too and it has an authentic feel to it. Recommended !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My partner and I were staying in Brighton and fancied tapas for dinner. We visited this lovely restaurant after walking out of another establishment, and we were pleasantly surprised.

The restaurant itself is a small and intimate affair, however the tables are laid out so that you are not on top of each other and it doesn't stop them seating tables of 6 people or so. The atmosphere is relaxed and authentic with rustic furniture.

The staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful and the food was wonderful, arriving at your table freshly cooked and (in the case of the spicy sausages) sizzling hot.

Topped off with some good wine and our tastecard discount, we couldn't have wanted anything more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A shambolic restaurant experience with food that celebrates its own mediocrity.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

On a short break to Brighton, my companion and I visited Vinos y Tapas on the recommendation of several glowing reviews from various sources on the Internet promising delicious food, a vibrant atmosphere and good value for money.
What we were actually greeted with was an entirely different restaurant to what the positive online reviews had suggested. We were the only diners in the restaurant to begin with (at around 8:30- a seemingly prime time spot given the location near Brighton seafront). Whilst this did not at first put us off dining in the restaurant, the quality of a rather vinegary £15 bottle of wine, combined with the lack of soap available in the toilets nearly did.
The tapas itself was bland and disappointing, with only the chorizo skewers as a saving grace. One plate of tapas (deep white bait with lemon mayonnaise) was served without much of the components of the dish without any explanation or apology. This was eventually sent back to the kitchen.
Finally, after around a 30 to 40 minute wait for a chicken, chorizo and pork paella (during which time the two chefs from the kitchen appeared to leave the kitchen for 10 minutes or so), it finally materialised as sloppy mess, with the rice undercooked, the chicken overcooked, and the pork nowhere to be seen. Both me and my companion have both cooked paella before and agreed that our various attempts were far better than the one sat infront of us; and we definitely don't count ourselves as chefs.
The meal was considerably expensive, featuring small portions even by tapas standards, made worse by the fact the food was horribly bland and a complete disappointment for two students that, prior to the meal, considered the dinner as a special treat. It left us out of pocket and we remained hungry. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Archiesmith94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

On the face of it this place looks amazing; it's small, welcoming and has an authentic feel about it. The food too looks good but to us didn't have that wow factor. The menu was as you would expect, all the tapas favourites. We had to order bread and butter, something a decent tapas bar would throw at you upon arrival, usually on the house. The bread itself was a supermarket baguette. There was 4 of us dining and we had 8 dishes in total. The patatas bravas was a real let down; recooked potatoes and a bland tomato sauce that could have been straight from a tin. The squid in ink was cooked well but again lacked any flavour other than boiled onions. The spanish tortilla was grey in colour which suggested it wasn't fresh. However, the chorizo and whitebait was particularly impressive and the sangria wasn't half bad but lacked fresh fruit. With drinks and bread our meal came to £15 per hesd which was very reasonable. Overall a mixed review but I wouldn't send my friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly staff, central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very nice place, food is absolutely amazing, we've ordered a variety of tapas and shared with each other. I recommend flamed chorizo skewers. Will go there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanushkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing