We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, friendly staff, central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We have just re-opened our doors to the public under new owner-ship. We have a new menu and currently offering Spanish tapas with a Latin twist! We don't want to just offer traditional Spanish tapas... So we have added Latin American tapas like no other place in Sussex! So come and give us a try and I can assure you will not be disappointed. You will find a very friendly staff as it is a family business and we are here ourselves!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly staff, central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very nice place, food is absolutely amazing, we've ordered a variety of tapas and shared with each other. I recommend flamed chorizo skewers. Will go there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanushkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas in small, friendly bar / restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall, this restaurant is good with tasty tapas served at a good temperature (I often find it too tepid in other tapas restaurants). The staff are friendly and attentive. Only let down when I went was that a number of the wines and food items weren't available which was odd for early in the evening. That aside, I'd go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggestHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Muy bien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Absolutely outstanding. Very traditional inside with good Hispanic gave off a fantastic atmosphere.

Patatas bravas was a particular highlight. Superb variety of wines for all pallets. If you're out and about in Brighton this place is a must.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas for British people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The guy who said "the brave are only potatoes and spiced tomato sauce" made me laugh. Because authentic Bravas are just like that.
I hate the idea that if you mouth don't smell like garlic the food is not good.
The Mediterranean diet is not only for garlic-addict.
This food is not fast food and I know that all kind of food have to adapt to its British consumers... but if you want some authentic Spanish tapas, and this food maybe is not as you think spanish food have to be, it is only because you have no idea about it & you are not the chef.
If someone really wants to enjoy about the food I think is necessary be an openminded person and leave the ignorance at house.
The only aspect that is able to improve is the illumination and the marketing for be a famous bistro because is a nice place for quiet people and for have a romantic dinner.
You can't get more quality with less money in Brighton.

Ajo y agua para el guiri exquisito

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaturdayMorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A proper Spanish restaurant (as the ones you can find in Spain)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just pop in yesterday night with some friends to "Vinos y Tapas" and I have to say is excellent!.When my friends suggested to go I was a bit reluctant because so far I have not seen a proper Spanish Bar with the same atmosphere as the ones you can find for example where I am from such as in Malaga or Granada.
I have to say that the decoration is fantastic. Secondly thanks to the chef because his culinary skills are brilliant. And the waiter was so nice and smiley all the time and very attentive.
I do not have any doubt to recommend this place and for sure I would come back again but next time with my boyfriend (who is English) and try to immerse in the Spanish culture hehehe

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariamacias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing