We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“14 quid for a burger??!!”
Review of The Druids Arms

The Druids Arms
Ranked #427 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $8 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Burgers, kebabs and bar snacks. Popping up at The Druids Arms every Wednesday-Saturday. Everything made from scratch using local, seasonal ingredients.
brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“14 quid for a burger??!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have had many burgers from the troll's pantry van and a couple at the Hobgoblin pub - all of which have been amazing! I visited the Brunswick pub yesterday to support them and try yet another delicious burger. £13.95 for 180g burger, triple cooked chips and salad, I'm sorry but there was no way the chips were triple cooked & we only got a handful of them - not worth more than a quid! and the 'salad' was one lettuce leaf and a slice of tomato!! come on please! Burger was amazing as always but I essentially paid £14 for a burger! I'd rather go to Hobgoblin & double up my burger for under a tenner! It's a real shame because I really wanted it to be amazing & a regular place to eat.

I think he is outpricing hiself unfortunately and unless the sides gets a lot better, stick to what he's good at -JUST BURGERS!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    44
    22
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent burger - but £13.95!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent burger at the Brunswick pub which Trolls pantry has started serving from.
For £13.95 though I thought the whole thing would've been amazing - Chips and salad were average - maybe I'm wrong but the chips did not seem to be triple fried - like I've had them elsewhere but just average handcut chips cooked once (no crispy outer and soft inner like they should be if they are triple cooked)
Price is steep for a burger and chips - and I will always pay more for decent locally sourced produce - but I fear that the price may be putting some people off.
But I wish them every success as they do have a very good product.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatalot t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Trolls Pantry still offers the best burger in brighton despite some very good pretenders (mentioning no names of course).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very tasty burger”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Since moving to Brighton and visiting Street Diner on a weekly bases I can honestly say that the Trolls Pantry burger is one of the best burgers I have ever tasted. Even beating burger joints in America.
The trolls put everything into making the perfect burger, the dedication is immense! I particularly love the Imperial and the Legend of Smokey Mountain.
And now I hear they are moving to a new location in Hove, as well as Street Diner and the Hobgoblin. Good luck to Paul and the fellow trolls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickFarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Living in Brighton you hear a lot about Trolls Pantry and being vegetarian I haven't been. My boyfriend loves a burger and he was really happy with his tasty burger at the Hobgoblin. His only complaint, Chips. He wanted chips too. As this is a burger joint I expected to be laughed at being veggie but no I was accommodated for with everything put in a bun with stinky sauce. They have also said they plan to get another griddle to cook veggie burgers on. We will be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druids Arms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Druids Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing