We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th Birthday holiday with four generations.”
other travelers have booked this property
Flamingo Dreams Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Flamingo Dreams Room
Looking Glass Room Fully equipped dinky kitchen with vintage tea set
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Flamingo Dreams Room
Looking Glass Room
Fully equipped dinky kitchen with vintage tea set
Madhatter Lounge
Vintage accessories
Playing card wallpaper
Teacup chandelier
vintage playing cards wallpaper
Madhatter Lounge
Madhatter Lounge
Madhatter Lounge with 2 silver sofa beds
Vintage tea set & complimentary beverages
Luxury wetroom with 2 showers
Teapot tap
White Rose Boudoir Victorian wash stand
Flamingo Dream Room wash stand
Stairway
Terrace
Brighton's historical Lanes
Black Lion Street (Black Lion and Cricketers Pub)
Latest Homes feature
Sunday Mirror
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
uricat
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“50th Birthday holiday with four generations.”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This cottage is exceptional.
The attention to detail is in every area of the cottage.
The comfort level of this cottage was outstanding.
The location in the Lanes suited our needs for day activity and was great for those in my group who wanted a night out.

The support from the owner was beyond my expectations. She made me feel confident in my choice and answered all questions.
It was a super place to spend time in Brighton and I wish I was going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Alice in wounderland theam and quality of bedding
Liked least: hard to choose something - all generations enjoyed the stay.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oopsmypar...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a teeny, tiny house snuggled away in the very centre of busy, noisy Brighton. Very cleverly marketed, you do forgive it its size in the name of Alice in Wonder quirkiness and it's also possible to forgive the constant, night time, drunken party atmosphere you are surrounded by because you are,hopefully, part of that and to be fair, you have been warned ( the ear plugs provided were definitely essential on a busy Friday / Saturday night. )
Having said that, we had a great time on our hen weekend. The cottage is perfectly situated to go out in The Lanes with the minimum fuss, it's clean and perfect as a base to enjoy the delights of Brighton.
I highly recommend the Mad Hatters Tea party, especially if it's been a long drive down there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant.”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a couple of mid week nights in the cottage, I had my mother, 12 year old daughter and her 14 year old cousin. All three girls loved the cottage, you can tell that it has been put together with love.

I have stayed in so many hotels motels and holidays homes, all over the world, most rooms always have one thing in common, they tend to be quite sterile, but The Looking Glass cottage has so many little things that make it so you unique. From the cutlery handles on cupboards, to the teapot faucet in the outside loo. After 2 nights we were all still finding little things that just made you smile.

We had no real problem with the noise from the the pubs at the end of the little lane, although they both seemed to close about 1 in the morning (I only know that because I had a couple of quiet pints after the girls went to sleep.

The location in the Lanes gives access to so many shops and restaurants you will be spoilt by choice.

I can only give my highest recommendation to the cottage and indeed Brighton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thought that went into all the small things that made the cottage a destination in its self
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decoration
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the theme through out the house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing