We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room was better than i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Istanbul EV Guest House
Ranked #67 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The room was better than i expected”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went with my two friends for a weekend away and was pleasantly surprised ( we all shared the same room)

The room ( a family room) was better than I expected after reading its reviews and how cheap it was!
Location was good

Only bad thing was the person above us was making a load of noise!! and was a lil chilly at night
But room was clean & beds were comfy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    12
    7
    13
See reviews for
9
24
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Took my son to brighton for a overnight stay,I looked online before and most rooms were full.i found the Istanbul ev guest house and at £60.00 it was almost the cheapest so we booked for one night...
You get what you pay for I think,the room was small,needed decorating and some minor repairs but the bed was ok with clean sheets and towels provided and very close to the pier and attractions so we felt it was ok..
There was alot of noise but this is central brighton so if you want a quiet night go sleep in a field!
The staff were very friendly and polite and with a lovely breakfast and coffee we enjoyed the overnight stay....it's what you make it I say

Room Tip: You won't get a sea view but for£60.00 what do you want ???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for one night, and as a place to rest our heads in central Brighton it achieved its purpose. However, it was cramped, horribly loud, and gave off the impression of needing a good cleaning (to be fair, it wasn't dirty so much as just seeming quite grimy). The noise was the biggest dealbreaker; we were constantly woken throughout the night from the sound of slamming doors and the constant racket of late-night partying outside despite having our windows shut (it's very close to Brighton's clubs). The walls were paper thin within the building as well; we heard every door slamming and far more than we wanted to from all the neighbors. The room was so small that we could barely walk around the bed to the sink once we had put our two suitcases in the room.

On the plus side, the location is excellent (provided you don't have a car; parking would have been a nightmare); it's a very short walk to all major Brighton attractions, and the Ferris wheel is at the end of the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodophile89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Location is the only good thing to say about it.

Health is the most important thing for me, and the mold on the water pipe, in the shower room and in the air gave me creeps! I could smell the mold in my clothes for several days after leaving the place.

I wouldn't ever go there again and won't recommend it to anyone, especially if you are allergic. Floor carpets also were dirty and the breakfast was too cold.

I feel sorry for the employees there, they kept sniffing all the time. :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sniff_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Room : bed clean comfy and towels were changed / bin emptied / bed made.
Ensuite Shower issued hot water but failed to drain away, toilet failed to flush anything away.
Telly limited to one channel. Fridge failed to work, coffee facilities why bother at all!
Breakfast : tea didn't look like but thankfully tasted like tea. Cold toast, (had to request butter) over cooked slice bacon over cooked egg, a quarter of tomato and a slice of mushroom and baked beans.
Back ground music ... Tinny sounding Turkish ...

Place needs a makeover!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleShazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked a Travelodge in Brighton for three nights whilst I was at a music festival, I needed to add another room for two people but it was fully booked. I found the The Istanbul Ev Guest House
And booked it. Having read the reviews I was not expecting much at all and my friend even brought a sleeping bag with him!

Clean towels everyday, less than a minute to the seafront and big wheel, minutes from the pubs and shops in Kemptown.

I can't say what all the rooms were like but ours was fine and baring in mind the last hotel I stayed at was a five star resort I had recently been spoilt.


The price was fantastic, especially as Brighton had a few festivals on and everyone else had bumped their prices up.

We arrived and were pleasantly surprised. The young lady that greeted us was lovely and could not have been nicer or more helpful. She showed us to our room which although it was small it was clean, nicely decorated and had everything we needed. We did not have an en suite ( which we knew at time of booking) but the toilet and shower were just out on the landing along with another one just down the next few stairs. We had a sink, wardrobe, kettle, tea making facilities, towels made into swans! Yes the street outside is noisy but to be this close to the busy seafront or anywhere near a road in Brighton would be the same. We only experienced the sounds of vehicles rather than actual people.
Breakfast was lovely and once again the young lady serving us could not have been more helpful.

I hope to return again and will book the The Istanbul Ev Guest House again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelmsforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted a cheap B&B right on the Seafront, this was perfect!
they charge £32 a night, not £70 as previously stated.

Upon arrival I was asked to pay the remainder of the balance by cash or card, I chose card and was charged £5 extra for the privilege.

The Brighton Pier and Wheel are right outside the front door. and it is a short walk around the corner to a few quirky restaurants and a Tesco express.

The guest house provided two sealed water bottles - which was great for me as I came in rather drunk one night.

The rooms are very basic - but you get what you pay for, it is also a shared bathroom between three rooms - this was never an issue though as everyone was out at different times of day - this meant you could pretty much take your time to do whatever.

Heating was an issue - The room was actually colder than outside, however my partner and I rarely spent time there and the Duvets are so thick and poofy, you feel like you will never be cold again.

The Staff are very friendly at breakfast and food took no longer than 5 minutes to arrive at the table. (Breakfast is obviously included in the price)

A big issue was leaving. guests are asked to leave by 10:00 am - this is slightly annoying as you don't have time to have a quick trip to the beach before check out - you do however have the option to stay later at extra cost of course.

I would recommend this hotel for it's absolutely awesome location.



Summary. Pros: Excellent location, Polite staff, Cheap, Good Value.

Cons: Cold Rooms, Extortionate Card Charge.

Room Tip: Go in the Spring/Summer, the rooms aren't so cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#58 of 97 in Brighton
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#57 of 97 in Brighton
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Gather Inn
The Gather Inn
#42 of 97 in Brighton
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#47 of 97 in Brighton
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Marine View Hotel Brighton
#61 of 97 in Brighton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul EV Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul EV Guest House

Property: Istanbul EV Guest House
Address: 8 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Istanbul EV Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul EV Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing