We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service not baby friendly”
Review of La Choza

La Choza
Ranked #82 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service not baby friendly”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The baby chair was faulty and would not fit securely. So held my baby in my hands and ate my lunch. The wait staff did not mention the special or say that I had help myself to water and so had a sour expression when I asked for tap water.

The wait staff were more interested in fawning for the b-list celebrity and his posse in the next table.

Food was extremely ordinary. I have eaten better Mexican food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    188
    81
    46
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Quirky and delicious!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited La Choza after a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed. We were sat down straight away, and our waitress was very helpful, bringing over a selection of salsas and nachos for us to try.
The starters were delicious, and the pulled pork on my main course was incredible! We treated ourselves to a margherita each, and they were zesty and smooth, with no trace of any artificial tastes. We had a dessert each too, which you must do if you go.
Overall, I have nothing bad to say about my experience at La Choza at all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraKircough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Vibrant restaurant in a vibrant location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Was full at around 8pm on a weekday evening but we gave our mobile number and went for a drink in a pub down the road; sure enough half an hour later we were summoned. Well worth the effort. Really authentic Mexican is a rarity but this is the DB, and we loved it. Noticed that a certain 'Wossy' was in there this week too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kinnies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun, casual & great food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I returned for my 5th visit over the w/e and it just keeps getting better and better. The staff have always been very upfront about the expected wait on my visits, giving me and my companions time to nip round the corner and have a pint (the Dorset is your best bet!) – they’ll even give you a call to let you know that the table is ready. The fact that you can't book is all part of the charm - I think the last reviewer failed to embrace that. The burritos (smoked pulled pork or chorizo for me) are superb but the standout dish is, perhaps surprisingly, the corn on the cob - smothered with a lime mayonnaise, parmesan cheese, coriander and chilli...bizarre but truly brilliant. The staff are always great fun and, most importantly, they know their chilli sauces!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick-selective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Should have choza different restaurant!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very disappointing experience to put it mildly. Also unlike any Mexican food we have ever eaten. Understandably it was a Saturday afternoon and very busy. We asked to wait 'minutes' for a spare table but there was no communication or apology, or even the offer of a drink while we were waiting, which was a much longer wait than expected. The service was appalling. Eventually the waitress took our drinks order which never arrived and yet other people were being served. Drinks order was mixed up and had to be re-ordered and eventually arrived. The waitress said she would give a discount on the bill (this also never happened and she had to be reminded when the bill eventually arrived.} The burritos were full of rice with little meat and very stodgy and the bill came to £74 for three including a tepid burrito to take away. I would say that it offered terrible value for money, is unauthentic Mexican food and probably one of the worst customer services to be had in Brighton. One member of staff - I believe a senior person also seemed to be suffering from selective deafness when we tried to get attention. I for one will never recommend this place and the only recommendation I could make is that the restaurant takes their staff training and attitude seriously.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to La Choza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing