We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If i could i would come here every day!”
Review of Seven Bees Cafe

Seven Bees Cafe
Ranked #527 of 1,168 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A cosy cafe in The Lanes serving Brighton's Best Big Breakfast, chosen by Source Magazine as Brighton's best fry-up in Sept 2010. We cook breakfast from scratch, using local ingredients where possible, served with Yorkshire tea or lovely Triple Cert coffee.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The way we ended up at the seven bee's (been twice as we're from colchester visiting brighton) was my girlfriend saying she had been to this really good cafe (Wasn't the seven bee's) we went in and i was blown away by the food!

The cafe as everyone says is hidden away down an alley way just by chocy woccy doo-dah (thats a mouthful..) it is a tiny little cafe with 5 tables and not much space, often end up sharing the table with other customers if it is busy!

You have a fairly simple choice, how hungry are you, THere is a big breakfast, bigger breakfast, biggest breakfast (Guess which i ate) there is also pancakes and other breakfast items but why would you?

The biggest breakfast consists of ingredients all sourced locally (where possible) and they are:
- Baked beans (I need to explain?)
- Black pudding ( I hate black pudding but even i ate some of this stuff!)
- Thick toast
- A couple of eggs
- big strips of bacon
- Mushrooms
- Tomatoes
- Sausage (Best sausage ever!)

Orange juice is all freshly squeezed, You may end up waiting 20-30 minutes for your food, but it is all being cooked from scratch in a little kitchen so the wait is excusable! You will end up paying about £8-10 for breakfast and a juice/tea/coffee which is bloody reasonable considering what you are getting!

To sum up. If you live in brighton or visit brighton, visit this cafe for breakfast you will love it!! it's not that hard to find, it is about 2 minutes walk from the Wetherspoons (the big glass building)

I would have added a photo but i ate the food to quickly!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain C, Owner at Seven Bees Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thanks for a great review. We have lots of Brighton based regulars but it's always nice to see that a visitor to the city has tracked us down in our little alleyway. Trip Advisor is a big help in this so your positive review really helps a small business like ours. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Seven Bees Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've always walked past Seven Bees not given it two thoughts but today we decided to try this hidden beauty.

It's tucked away down a small ally just off ship street, the aromas of a fry up draw you in nearer and nearer until you reach a tiny yellow fronted cafe.

Inside there are only 7-8 tables. We sat down an a friendly member of staff took out order.

We were both pleasantly surprised by how good the quality of the cappuccino's were, seeing as it was a 'cafe'. We watched in awe as plate after plate of freshly cooked breakfasts left the kitchen until 2 of those plates were placed in front of us. We only ordered the Big Breakfast which consisted of bacon, sausage, egg, beans and toast with extras of mushrooms, fried slice and black pudding.

There are 3 sizes of Big breakfasts and all very good value for money.

The food didn't feel heavy, greasy or stodgy and everything was very well cooked.

Looking forward to returning to Seven Bees.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickFarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain C, Owner at Seven Bees Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

I'm glad you decided to pop in. What a nice review. We hope you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I probably pop into this place once every 2 months. Its always good, food quality is high, value for money is excellent and the coffee's great. Just a tiny place really and can be tricky to find if you don't know the area, but if you're after a great fry-up and want to grab a newspaper then I would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain C, Owner at Seven Bees Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased we consistently meet your needs. That's a great sign for us that we are doing our job right all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we were looking for somewhere to have breakfast and stumbled across this little gem. its very quirky and the food is so fresh and sourced from local produce. all cooked on a grill and non greasy love visiting this place when we come to brighton.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank larni1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain C, Owner at Seven Bees Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thanks very much for the review. So glad you found us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I love this place and make sure that I get there at least once a month. Excellent food all locally sourced that is cooked perfectly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cumdropper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain C, Owner at Seven Bees Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thanks for the review. It really helps the business when people do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Bees Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Seven Bees Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing